We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Chill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were met by the happy smiling face and obliging disposition of Bruce-straight away we were put at ease-the room was excellent as were the facilities including hot spa and mineral spa plus a great swimming pool. Bruce was most obliging in finding us our next accommodation for our on going trip-he directed us to excellent eating venues all with in easy reach of the accommodation.

Room Tip: Just ask and Bruce will do anything in his power to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi Eve, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed our Motel. I hope the rest of your holiday was a good experience and you arrived home safe & sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

A great, handy, Kiwi owned and operated place to stay in Rotorua. The motel was very well presented and quiet with exceptionally clean and tidy rooms. The operators were pleasant and very helpful. We'd definitely choose to stay here again when next in Rotorua. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Range of options - have a look on their web-site it is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for the positive review , I'm glad you happy with your accommodation and hopefully see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this Motel and thoroughly loved every minute, naturally we were out and about seeing and doing things while we were there so we didn't spend a lot of time at the motel but it was clean, comfortable and had heaps of room. The thermal pool was popular with our entire family and the mineral pools were a nice interlude. A big up for the owners you couldn't ask for a more pleasant friendly and welcoming hosts, your passion and love of Rotorua was evident plus your knowledge, recommendations etc were invaluable, a big thanks from us and if we ever get back there you know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Nigel, WOW what a great review thank you very much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see and do the many things that Rotorua has to offer, take care and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel seventeen years ago with our extended family. We have always remembered how great it was with a large, clean and inviting thermal pool to keep the children entertained while the adults relax. We went back recently with the same family plus grandchildren and found it just as we remembered. The units are clean and spacious with full kitchen, separate bathroom and toilet and large screen televisions. The location is perfect as it is off the main street and just across the road from a shopping complex with supermarket. It is close to the center of town and many of the local attractions. The owners are helpful and friendly and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTfamilysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review it was our pleasure having you all stay with us and glad you had a great time with your family. We are nice and handy to everything and just a short walk into town, thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our group of 10 spent three nights at the Union Victoria Motel. It was clean and comfortable, and the owners were welcoming and very willing to share their love of Rotorua which, as [owner] Bruce told me, has been chosen as the most beautiful city in New Zealand for the past 12 years!

He also highly recommended some of the local sights (including Rotorua Museum and the Government Garden, and the Buried Village - 15 km outside of town).

The Union Victoria is located a few blocks from the center of town in a quiet neighborhood. We felt safe walking a few blocks to a nearby Countdown grocery story, where we could purchase the items needed to prepare our meals in our well-equipped kitchen. Alternatively, we could easily walk to one of the nearby restaurants on the main street.

Although a cooked breakfast was available (for a fee), we chose to have the complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Although I did not use the swimming pool, others did and enjoyed it. After a long day of sightseeing, I did take advantage of the spa and mineral pools, which were delightful. (My only wish is that they all had handrails, which would make them more accessible for people with disabilities.)

I would definitely stay at Union Victoria Motel in the future, and I would certainly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SactoJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi There, Thank you for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Union Victoria Motel, the family unit we stayed in was a single story dwelling at the entrance of the Motel, the room could sleep six people and was possibly the largest accommodation we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand.
The Owner was friendly and knowledgeable, and gave us some good info on the area, the location was close to Shops and Supermarkets and close to the many attractions Rotorua has to offer.
We had thermal heating to the unit which was very efficient almost too efficient, our beds were soft, however we still were able to sleep well.
We had a large separate kitchen, and large lounge with full size dining table under a large television.
The only criticism would be the unit was possibly one of the oldest we had stayed in and some of the wooden windows/cupboards etc were showing signs of age and required a little TLC.
We enjoyed our stay in Rotorua and it has many attractions on offer, more than our two day stay would be required to see them all .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAPerthFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hi There, Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and were able to see what the area has to offer. Thanks for the comments on the room you stayed in and I'm glad it was to your liking, it is in the older part of the Motel and being big family units they do tend to get a bit more wear and tear however they are on the agenda for refurbishment..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took our nephew from Fiji to Rotorua for an overnight stay. This motel was convenient, quiet and pleasant. Our room was warm, cosy and clean. The plants and cats were lovely and added a nice touch. The man that was at the desk was wonderful, welcoming and very knowledgable about the area. The men loved the pools, which were clean and provided the relaxation they needed after a long drive. The motel and host provided a ray of sunshine on an otherwise very wet weekend.
We would definitely stay here again when we visit Rotorua in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feef738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Manager at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope your nephew enjoyed what Rotorua has to offer. It is nice and quiet, making for a good nights rest especially after a long soak in the hot pools. It's been a long time since I have been called a ray of sunshine!! hope to see you again in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#85 of 92 in Rotorua
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $84 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing