We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
wellington
1 review
“Family Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bruce and Cheryl are lovely hosts....they make sure people's needs are taken care off, always a smile, a suggestion...... whatever the reason for the visit to Rotorua........the hotel is close to amenities, its kept clean, tidy. with range of pools for aching muscles..........privacy is assured if you want it, or if you're social......you can certainly strike up a yarn with the hosts or others staying near by.......

Room Tip: apartments offer space and kitchenette...great for families and a busy schedule........shops are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
"Wow" what a great review, the pools are great aren't they? you certainly get a good nights sleep after you have had a dip especially the Mineral Pools and there is always around to strike up a conversation with, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
49
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First impressions last! To be greeted genuinely and be interested in how my day was going spoke volumes.Then to be shown to your room and made to feel welcome - good old fashioned hospitality. Although dated, the rooms gave a homely, relaxing feel. Exceptionally clean and the beds were most comfortable. Loved the water pressure in the shower!. Shopping mall across the road for all necessities and close to restaurants but yet set in a quiet location. Real value for your money. Recommend this Motel to everyone. Thankyou for a wonderful stay. Will certainly look you up when next in need of accomodation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Wai, What nice comments....thank you, I'm glad you had a relaxing stay with us, we do try and give that personal touch that sets us apart from the others, thanks again hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay for a few nights. Excellent location just off Fenton St. Sizeable rooms, really comfortable beds. Living room very nice and dining area. Wi-Fi available at a cost. Metal flooring in the shower was not the best touch but otherwise clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ideal to stay for a few nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi, Thanks for the great review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowerhutt
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great motel ,everything ya want Swimming pool ,great ,spa mineral pools tops Awsome location ,park the car up Supermarket ,food court across rd Suchi bloody awsome Backed few winners at Rotovegas races ,even better

chris b lowerhutt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Chris, Thanks for the review, we are handy to the shops and CBD and it's a good walk you don't have to worry about parking the car. I'm glad you won a few dollars at the race's, It's a shame we don't have more race meetings here, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We have a family of 5 and needed space so this family friendly motel was perfect for our needs - older style but who doesn't like the jug of milk and shown the room by the proprietor and then good suggestions for dinner - heaps better than an impersonal fancy chain where no-one takes a personal interest!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant50th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Grant, Thanks for a great review we do try and give that personal touch and show you around the Motel when you arrive and then to your room, hopefully it relaxes you and makes you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this motel for four nights in January and we could not find fault in any way. Rooms are very clean and have well equipped kitchens. The hotel has great facilities such as mineral, spa and swimming pools. The location is perfect and is within walking distance to the city centre. The hosts, Bruce and Cherie, are extremely gracious hosts and treat you as if you are the only people there. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this motel. Well done!

Gabi Radnay

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Gaby, Thanks for the positive review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you enjoyed the wonderful attractions that Rotorua has to offer, We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The whole family appreciated our brief stay at this hotel. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly, the heated pool was enjoyed by us all and the spas were a great treat. Our room upstairs was clean and well equipped and we all had a very comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Richard, Thanks for the great review you visit was short and sweet but I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing