We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hosts/Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Victoria Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hosts/Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Bruce & Sheri are wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble, always friendly and helpful. Spacious, clean and warm rooms, the team loves the thermal water and prefect mix of private indoor and outdoor pools. We return year after year you can’t get a better recommendation than that.

Room Tip: This accomodation is so close to the town centre, they dont' need a resturant or fitness centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi Jodie, Thanks for those kind words, we love having you and the team here and look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
47
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Thanks Bruce & Sheri my family and I had a wonderful time with you and made our trip to Rotorua all the more special and memorable.

We spent a wonderful 3 nights in Rotorua and this motel was a gem. From arrival Bruce made us feel welcome and nothing was an issue when seeking help and advice from either Bruce or Sheri. We had a family unit with 2 bedrooms which were wonderfully warm, very spacious and everything we needed for our stay. The motel is very close to the main shopping mall, supermarkets, the city center, many restaurants and cultural attractions.

There is a swimming pool, 2 mineral baths and a spa bath which makes for a nice relaxer after being out and about all day.

There are of course there are more luxurious places to stay along with the price, but if you are looking forward to a nice cozy place, central to everything, that is reasonably priced and above all with great owners to look after you then this is the place. This little gem run by Bruce and Sheri I would rate an 11 out of 10.

Room Tip: Book in early for the family units as they go fast. Also if you have pre-booked any cultural attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
WOW! thanks for a great review. We do our very best to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome, there is so much to see and do in Rotorua and we don't want you to waste your time and money by going to the wrong places. Thanks again for your kind words I hope the rest of your holiday went well and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! We were made to feel very welcome by Bruce & Sheri. The rooms are so spacious, clean & warm...nice & quiet too. Loved the hot Mineral Pools!!! Also, the swimming pool was warm enough for a swim in the middle of winter. This is the best motel I have ever stayed in! Thanks Bruce & Sheri..we will be back!

Room Tip: All Units are spacious & clean, quiet & warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi Wendy, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the pools are great aren't they especially on a cool evening. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

very good accomadation my wife and i only stopped for two nights but the owner was so welcoming when we arrived. Booked us to see a show that night. The next day he so helpful with what to see during our short stay each was great .Because we had not booked any accomadation for Auckland he phoned around to find some for us which we were so grateful for .So if you are looking a place to stay can highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denismoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Wendy, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the pools are great aren't they especially on a cool evening. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Union Victoria was fabulous accommodation. The first thing that inspired me was the tour of the grounds and our unit by the owner! That doesn't happen too often. The motel is in a great location, directly opposite a shopping centre with a supermarket, and just a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area. The accom was clean, fresh and well appointed. Furniture was newish and inviting. The smell from the geothermals was a bit much but it's hard to get away from in Rotorua. The pool at UV was fantastic - very warm even on a cold winter's morning. The motel owner was very helpful in providing guidance and advice to local attractions, etc. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thanks for those kind words, we do try and make our guests feel relaxed while they are staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thanks for hosting us. The service was great and hosts very friendly. Showed us around the complex and the mineral pools were just great. We will be back with our Grandchildren in the near future. A great place to stay.
Thanks again.
Shirley and Davis McClutchie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Hanoze, Thanks for the positive review I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and were able to see the things we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Thanks for hosting us again this weekend, it was great to relax in the thermal pools after a long day riding the shuttle, soothed away my crash induced aches! The boys also enjoyed the heated swimming pool even though it was about the coldest day on record.
Also excellent service, as always, providing us with a secure place to store our bike trailer.
Highly recommended, especially if you want space, pools, great location and are not so concerned with the latest decor.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing