We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, apart from Wi Fi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed everything in this motel: first of all, the friendliness of the owner, who went above what is usually found in similar motels: for instance, giving us very good and very detailed suggestions on places to visit nearby. Then the location is excellent to visit the Rotorua area; they have a very good hot water spa, large rooms (even if the appliances are a bit old) etc.
We only had a problem with the WiFi connection: out of the two networks available, one was unstable, repeatedly disconnecting and/or blocking the data transfer, during our two day’s stay; the second one was instead stable, but the signal was not strong enough in our room; so I ended up sitting outdoor, with the laptop on my knees…Anyway the owner helped here as well, inviting me in the office and offering the usage of his PC (which I had to decline, because most of the data I needed, are stored on mine).
Overall, we’d definitely like to come back on the next occasion!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We love Rotorua therefore it was easy to tell you about all the wonderful (and sometimes, free) things to do. And everything was so close. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cleveland. You will be pleased to know that in a few days we will have a new wifi system inbuilt into our new 42" flat screen tv's. There will be no more problems to access internet. Ciao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 597 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Seriously great for young families! It offers a very safe play area with swings, pools, and trampolines (and Brij walking past to help the kids on the tramp when needed). Honest and reliable staff. Very convenient. A price that works for families. Easy access to laundry and clothes line. Rooms are clean and functional with no unnessicary 'extras'.

Room Tip: Rooms behind reception offer clear view of the trampolines, choose these if you have kids, or avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

The Cleveland has always focused on family fun. We are really glad you & your family enjoyed your stay. We will continue to improve facilities for young children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Cleveland Motel for 2 nights in Rotorua's mid-spring. Its a short walk to the city centre though a car is recommended.
This place was exactly what I was looking for in a vacation. I was very well looked after, the customer service was great and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayManChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We appreciate your review; thank you. When you next visit you will see the many changes we are implementing to make your experience at the Cleveland even better than the last. We wish you success & happiness in your career.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently stayed here with 2 girlfriends and had a very nice, relaxing weekend.

Check in with the super-friendly owner, Brij, was easy. He was a lovely man, very helpful and chatty. Our 1-bedroom unit was tidy, clean and comfortable with all the basic amenities - fridge, kettle, sky TV, decent hot shower and comfortable warm beds. We expected that 2 of us would need to share a bed but in fact we each had a bed to ourselves - 1 x double and 1 x single in the bedroom plus 1 x single in the lounge. That was a real bonus.

The highlight of our stay was using the lovely outdoor thermal swimming pool and the indoor mineral pools - very welcome given the cold, miserable weather we had that weekend. There were also big trampolines available and although we didn't use them, the kids staying in the motel clearly loved them!

Location-wise the motel is close to Kuirau Park with a few shops, takeaways and a Countdown supermarket just a couple of minutes' walk away.

My only recommendation for improvement would be a clothes airer for each unit - there was nowhere to dry our togs after using the hot pools.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the road, ask for a unit at the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razorsharp2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Glad you had a good stay and got to enjoy our mineral pools and the outdoor heated pool. You have suggested an airer in the room; we should have told you to use the radiators to dry your clothes. Please accept our apologies. While you did not try our trampolines, perhaps you will be tempted to the swings we are having installed soon especially for adult use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rooms have been refurbished and 'Bridge' the most helpful and friendly manager informed us of future plans. Excellent place to stay with kids. could do with replacing hair dryer etc but think thats in the plans. would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURASANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your review so soon . We have noted your comments about the hair dryer and yes, these will be replaced as we continue with our re-furbishment programme. We are installing a picket fence at the front of the property today. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is good with a brisk walk into town and the mud pool park on the way we were able to leave our car at Cleveland and get a bit of exercise, The natural spring heated pool was great to have a swim in and very unusual for us from OZ as it was middle of winter and about 2"C. The rooms were old and worn out but clean and tidy, there was reno's started so I'm guessing by now, well on there way to a much needed upgrade.
The staff were very friendly and organised excursions at a minutes notice for my family and lots of helpful advice about there town.
Thanks for a comfortable stay and looking forward to seeing the renovations next time in NZ.

Regards
Chris & family

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our mineral pools; this is usually kept at a temperature between 38C to 40C. Since your stay in July this year, we have completed re-furbishing all the 2-bedroom units and are half way through the 1-bedroom units. These will be completed by end November. Guests who have stayed in the re-furbished units are loving the colours we have chosen. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for the ritz its not for you. but if you want a cheap stay in a very conveniant spot clean room children friendly etc for less then 100 dollsrs it has quite good rooms they are large with a good tv plenty of chanles bed comfitable shower old but worked well.there is a large heated pool trampoleans and other things for the children .make sure you get a renevated room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note your children enjoyed using the playground and that you found our rooms clean, comfortable & well-priced. You will be pleased to know that our re-furbishment of the units is in full swing and the newly renovated rooms are being liked by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $85 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing