We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've stayed in this motel two times now and have been very happy both times.
The swimming pool is great, especially on a cold winters night, the mineral pool is great and the rooms are clean and functional .
For kids there is a great playground and the price is excellent
I have found this motel to be incredibly good value, the host was very friendly and helpful, and would recommend it to anyone.

David

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from the team at the Cleveland. We thank you for your review. Over the next few months we will be busy improving the pool that you loved during your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    189
    43
    8
    4
See reviews for
281
130
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We love coming to Rotorua, but since having kids trying to work out which is the best motel out of the hundreds in Rotorua for us is really hard. But not any more. Friends stayed here and said it was great. We stayed here and have found our new favourite place to stay in Rotorua.

What more could you ask for - clean, warm pool, clean rooms - not fancy but if you want fancy you don't have kids! It had a functional kitchen, all the equipment worked, DVD player and TV. Then don't get me started on the playground - two new trampolines, swings - all you need so really going out of the motel was a bit unneccessary (at least for our 3 & 7 year olds!).
The sofa bed was very comfy too.

Helpful, considerate, aware owner who obviously loves the motel. Thank you Brij for our stay.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the road works outside - there was nothing going on a weekends and the units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you, thank you , thank you. You have made our day with your review. Yes, we love what we do and we love kids to have fun while at the Cleveland. More playground equipment will be added later this year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kao, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

wonderful motel to stay, i live in brisbane an go to rotorua to visit family my stay there is always at the Cleveland, the rooms are lovely warm an the owner n staff are a beatiful bunch, will stop n chat with you, very helpful re places to see etc. Will reccomend this motel to any of my family that wish to visit rotorua.
Also has a beautiful hot pool.

Room Tip: higher rooms have less a/c unit rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We love what we do and it is always a pleasure to help our guests make the most of their visit to Rotorua. Thanks for making the Cleveland your preferred place to stay in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Don't stay at this motel, I stayed in a room for one night an booked out the next morning. The location is great but the place is dirty and shoddy. This place needs a revamp with new fittings and furniture. The stove was outdated and microwave broken, the carpets are worn and the curtains were ripped.
Stay away from this place

Room Tip: Don't stay at this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are glad to see there was one positive in your review - you mention the motel had a “great location”, yet you scored only 2 out 5 for location. Surely a “great location” should have been closer to 5 out of 5.

We have checked the room you stayed in and advise the stove is old but in in good condition and full working order. Same with the microwave. You made no mention that the fridge was near new. The carpet is worn in heavy traffic areas and yes, there was a tear in the sheer net curtain in the bedroom. These curtains have a habit of getting in the way when the windows are opened & shut and obviously a small tear occurred when the room was previously occupied. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to replace this before you arrived.

We thank you for your suggestions that a revamp with new fittings & furniture is necessary. The Cleveland has 30 units. In the past twelve months we have replaced fridges in 10 units, televisions in 14 units, microwave ovens in 8 units, dining chairs in 12 units, bedside tables & desks in 7 units. We have added 2 large brand new trampolines and a new swing set to the equipment in the playground. A brand new $6000 washer/dryer has been added to the guest laundry. And, yes, we will be refurbishing several of the 2-bedroom and studio units this winter. The outdoor swimming pool has been repainted and the sand filters have been replaced. All this because we want to give more value to our guests.

On the day you checked-in you were more than “unhappy” when asked for payment for your stay. We were made uncomfortable by your repeated “why do I have to pay now?” Finally, you paid for one night on the understanding the balance was to be paid the next morning. It was almost as if you had decided to cut your stay short even before you checked-in, which is what you did the very next morning.

Readers need to make their own minds about whether we are a place to stay or not by reading the rest of the reviews written by other guests. Most families love the Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a little gem...!! Upon arrival, the motel didnt look like much - very simple and the roadworks at front made it hard to get into. However, the difference is noticable from check-in. Lovely flower baskets all over the place give it a refreshing look and the owner - Brij - is awsome. Brij went out of his way througout our 1 night stay to ensure that everything was perfect. He was always running throughout the property and always checked to ensure that everyting was OK.

The rooms were big and accomodating for families. One thing that we did mention to Brij was that the shower head was quite old and pressure was weak. Brij did mention that the showers were slowly getting renovated.

One outstanding thing was the pool and playground facilities for children. The kids loved the playing area and made a nice atmosphere to sit in the front of the rooms and keep an eye out on the children playing.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We must admit reading your review confirmed what we have always believed - that the Cleveland is a family motel. We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed the playground, the pool and just having lots of open spaces. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Good for the budget conscience with all the facilities, downside was the roadworks which were annoying, but couldn't be helped of course, rooms were somewhat dirty. Would stay closer in the city next time. Lovely staff though doing all they could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
It's good to read you found the Cleveland Motel staff friendly and helpful. We certainly price our rooms to fit the budget for families and having almost 3 acres of grounds, a large number of our rooms are set well away from the main road. The playground too, is located safely away from the main road. Most families find our location (1km from town centre) to be a plus - close enough to everything, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Our housekeeping team has been informed of your comments about the room you stayed in and their new routine will ensure all rooms meet a high standard of comfort and cleanliness. We would love to hear from you directly with suggestions. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very warm, welcoming and friendly people. They provided very helpful and accommodating service when we stayed for one night at Cleveland Motel ensuring that we were comfortable. Our motel room was very clean and tidy. We were very impressed when they couriered out (free of charge) an item of clothing which we accidentally left in the room. Unfortunately we were on there for one night and didn't get to enjoy all the services which the motel offered, but I would definitely return to Cleveland again. Thank you Brij.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCWatene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Cleveland Thermal Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's a shame you didn't use our outdoor heated pool or the geothermal mineral pools. Perhaps next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.9 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Thermal Motel

Property: Cleveland Thermal Motel
Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly The Cleveland Thermal Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cleveland Thermal Motel. The Cleveland Thermal Motel is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. We are an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make The Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleveland Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing