We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly pleasant”
Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly pleasant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We briefly legged it to Rotorua on our way from Coromandel back to Auckland (yes, bit of a detour) and picked this place to stay on short notice. The owners were very friendly and helpful and showed us around the room, the only thing that we struggled to find was the light switch (!) After a 20 minute search we managed to find it. Perhaps this could be pointed out.

The room was very spacious, maybe slightly dated but comfortable beds. I was surprised about the facilities such as a small kitchen and a jacuzzi pool (we did try it and enjoyed it!).
WiFi worked fine and we could park straight in front of the room which was great.

Of-course, like any place in Rotorua you will smell the sulphury scent nearly everywhere. It's a natural effect so nothing to remark negatively on this motel.

Rotorua is great fun, it's not for nothing the locals call it "Rotovegas". Lot's of things to do and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
27
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We (my husband, two teenage kids and myself) stayed at the Brylin Motel for two nights and found Bev and Phil to be the friendliest and most welcoming motel owners we have ever encountered. Their tip for a good pub meal (at The Pig and Whistle) was spot on. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and found it to be very clean, comfortable and roomy. The motel is close to the centre of town and all the local attractions are easily accessable from here. We would definately stay here again. Mel and Ron Noorderbroek

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great Place to stay.

Rooms are affordable and well maintained, Good location. Very friendly hosts who went out of their way to assist us. Would recommend to all. We really enjoyed our stay. 2 bedroom apartments are ideal for a few couples or a family

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Braeden87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Brylin and were absolutely over the moon with the unit and service we received.
The units are maintained to the highest standard and are spotless.
Bev and Phill were the most helpful and accommodating hosts we've ever known and really went the extra mile for us ensuring our stay with them was the best it could be.
We would have no hesitation checking into The Brylin again, it was a pleasure.
Thank you Bev and Phill, keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed at Brylin Motel for three nights and have to say the service was excellent! Bev and Phil are the perfect hosts who were happy to help out with lots of info and helpful tips to get the best out of our short stay in Rotorua. We were a little bamboozled about what was the best things to do in our time however they helped with recommendations and even booked our Maori village visit and the Skyline and Gondola for us. We stayed in unit 9 which was a two story two bedroom unit in the back corner of the property which gave us distant views towards the Skyline Gondola. Upstairs was the living, kitchen and main bedroom with two balconies and downstairs was another bedroom with two single beds and a tv and a bathroom with a spa which the kids put to good use. Very spacious and well appointed, the large tv in the lounge was great! Our family of four felt quite at home, we had heaps of room.Cannot recommend highly enough this place as THE place to stay while in Rotorua. The customer service was excellent! Bev and Phil also make great first aid officers with lots of bandaids and towels after my son had a rather unfortunate accident with an umbrella. They even lent us said umbrella when it was pouring and we had to go out that night. Overall the best place we stayed in while in NZ. The only negative I have is that the internet access was difficult at times to log into but overall we had the best time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for unit 9 which is the corner unit. For a family it has more space, two balconies and a nice ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noonie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is great, the rooms are great value for money. During our stay our car developed a fault, Phil & Bev gound us a repair shop, and offered us a lift to and from there.

They are people who understand customer service! Kerp up the good work

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place was excellent we had the best time and so did our kids thanks to the owners, They made us so welcome and gave us all the info we needed to get around. Room's where very clean and big and the balcony was great to have a beer on with our friends that where staying in the room next door. We would stay there again.
Brett and Nicole Morris

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvlonGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.6 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Property: Brylin Motel
Address: 315 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing