We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Brylin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brylin Motel
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stays like this one make me so happy as they really make a holiday worthwhile. Being on the road i was surprised how quiet the room was. Free wifi is definately a plus and the spa bath was a real treat after a long day. But the best part of my stay was definately the managers. Many many thanks to Bev for ringing up and rearranging tours and making sure i waz booked in for some and also for her lovely suggestions for eating out. They really do go the extra mile to help you out. Thank you both. I hope to come back one day!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Brylin Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 110 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Sometimes it is the hosts, rather than the accommodation that really define the experience. The owners of this hotel are some of the nicest you'll ever come across and went above and beyond to help us get the most out of our two days in Rotorua.

The budget-friendly studio room was more than comfortable for the three of us, with plenty of floor space, a big TV and the progressive free WiFi service. Only downfalls perhaps are location (for those who don't have a car), it's about 10-20mins walk to the main CBD area. I'd gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Super friendly and obliging proprietors. A little way out of town on the Main Street but easily accessible by a short taxi ride. Great two bedroom apartment which was very roomy with two lovely balconies and a courtyard. Highly recommended for a budget stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Brylin Motel for 3 nights, the managers are really friendly and helpful. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, the set out of the apartment was 2 stories with the main bedroom, kitchen and lounge upstairs and the 2nd bedroom and bathroom downstairs. There is a laundry at the motel but not in the apartment. The parking is right outside your door but is a little tight to get out of, but with one person guiding it wasn't too bad. They have free wifi, which really helps to keep in touch with family, check emails and research other attractions in the area. The managers are happy to recommend restaurants and attractions and also to book for you. I would definitely recommend this family friendly motel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Being greeted as someone special and being shown your room with pride always gets me off to a good start in accommodation. The owners are lovely and with tips for restaurants and ideas on attractions and things to do and see in Rotorua filling our heads, we unpacked and settled in. It became quickly apparent on a 28 degree day that we would need air circulation even with the windows wide open, so dug one out of one of the many storage areas in the rooms. I think they had aircon as well but i prefer real air! That stayed on for the two days we were there and really helped to get a good nights sleep although the soft earthy tones of the room and the firm but comfortable bed helped as well. A quiet room apart from the occasional floorboard squeak from the room upstairs this was a nice place including free wifi (yes!), to stay although two points; the basin in the bathroom (which had a lovely spa bath in it) has a toothpaste holder immediately above it which meant I hit my head every time I rinsed my mouth out after brushing my teeth, plus the kitchen bench was unusually high, which for my 5 foot babe was a real problem, however, in the scheme of things they were minor. The place is ultra clean, well kept, tidy and with owners like that it will be my first place to stay in Rotorua in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights. Right from entering the office we were made to feel welcome. Phil and Bev were most helpful in suggesting and booking things we wanted to do in Rotorua. We had booked a studio unit but they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom unit for the 3 nights we were there. The rooms are spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. Would stay here again and have recommended to other people going to Rotorua

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickimitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We needed a 2 bedroom unit in Rotorua, and Brylin had a vacancy, now we no why! The rooms were very small, the kitchen table was unusable, as soon as you sat at it, you blocked anyone else from getting past you. The beds were terribly uncomfortable, extremely hard surface, and the noise of anyone creeping around upstairs (or next unit), sounded like a bunch of women in stilettos stomping on a wooden floor. Also we stayed 2 nights at full price, but on the second night we had no clean linen or towels, no top ups for toiletries or tea/coffee etc.
I would expect a reduced rate for reduced services. Overall the motel was clean, but definitely dated. Stay somewhere else, we were too embarrassed to ask our friends back for drinks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevandPhill, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are sure you would have been shown the unit for aproval, so must have been happy with the layout and size at the time of paying. All units are serviced daily between 10am and 12pm. This includes clean towels and 'top ups'. The only time a unit is not serviced is when guests are still occupying it beyond 12pm. We then rely on the guests to inform us if they require any services later on. It's a pity that you didn't bring your 'problems' to our attention at the time of your visit to enable us to sort things out for you. It is important to us that all of our guests are happpy and receive the best of service, but we cannot help when guests don't notify us at the time. Commenting a Month after a visit does not help us to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#58 of 92 in Rotorua
14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Address: 315 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $56 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 3 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 5 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free off road car parking available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing