We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Host, gr8 BBq, relaxed social scene and very quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Ranked #46 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Host, gr8 BBq, relaxed social scene and very quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Wow its not the Sheraton Hotel, but after settling in a good time was had by all , no it might not be the quietest of places but lots of fun and the BBq was great value, Extremely hospitable hosts, we had a twin and a double room the bed was so comfortable nice clean crisp linen, lots of hot water clean spa and user friendly ammenities and nice and warm with hot pipes running thru the rooms and heaters too! Fantastic advice on things to do. Thanks Dan

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katleex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
9
22
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Booked in for three nights, left after one!
Rooms were filthy, room walls were paper thin and kept awake all night by noise from rooms on either side and people coming in drunk, swearing and arguing with the night security guy! Then after 30minutes sleep being woken again by people leaving, banging their backpacks against the walls and doors and talking loudly!
Would not recommend for anyone over 30, more for the younger set!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paorahira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Basel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Plus: The hostel looks unique from the outside and a lot of care was taken in adding a western theme in every detail (the toilet is the [--], each room has a name etc). The guy at reception was really easy going, check in and check out was hassle free. There were plenty of showers and toilets and they were all fairly clean. The hostel is in a nice central location. The kitchen is a decent size. Low price.

Minus: If you are looking for a double room and don't mind it being tiny with nothing but a bed and paper thin walls, you won't be unhappy here. We almost didn't have enough space to put down two big backpacks and nowhere to hang anything. Our room was surrounded by toilets so being woken up by a) the snoring of guys left and right to the paper thin walls or b) vomiting teenagers on the loos was not pretty. Our room was right opposite the passage where people come in and out of the court yard and the curtain of the little window we had was too short, so everyone kept looking into the room. The furniture in the kitchen/lounge was absolutely filthy, I wouldn't park my behind on any of the chairs! The computer was extremely slow and the USB ports did not work (waste of money when you only want to copy a couple of photos from your camera onto a stick). No towels and/or soaps were provided.

I couldn't get out of this place quick enough and would only recommend it if you are really not fussy about space, privacy and cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Najane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Looks pretty fun from outside but inside it lacks any kind of personality. Our twin was litterally a box with a window to the outside passageway that wouldn't close and no form of heating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling NZ/Aus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This backpackers had great, friendly staff who gave awesome advice on where to find things and cheap tours to take. The room was tiny and freezing cold, though the staff did provide a heater. The place had a pretty unfriendly feel to it, and walking across the yard in the pouring rain to go to the toilet or use the shower (the showers were pretty grim) wasn't much fun. Pretty average stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights on our 3wk tour of NZ. We've stayed in hostels all over australia and the rest of NZ so are well used to them. When we got here (central enough location about 5mins from main road with tourist office), we had to wait for 20mins to check in while the girl who was supposed to be on reception was in the back room doing aerobics. No kidding. There was a buzzer for the phone she was supposed to have on her but the phone was on the counter beside the buzzer...useful. I had to go roaming around the hostel to find another staff member to go and get the reception girl to check us in.

Eventually when we checked into our room (double room), it was small but seemed fine. As another review said it was dusty. We had to go outside to go to the loo which during the night was freezing! We did have a heater in our room tho but it was still cool enough. The loo's weren't great - quite old and no soap or towels in them (at one point I actually put a small soap into the ladies loo's to use each time and the next time I went back it was gone - so someone actually went to the trouble of stealing a soap or else the cleaners threw it out - helpful).

The kitchen was old too, could do with a lot of updating. Not much table space to eat your meal either. Then lastly, the morning we left we were getting our bus at 8.30am, so when we went to check out and get our key deposit back the reception (which was supposed to open at 8am), was closed. We hung around till 8.20am but still no sign. Not very helpful when you are leaving rotorua. To be fair I called them when I got to our next stop in the YHA auckland and they arranged to pay the rotorua YHA the cash, which allowed the auckland one to pay me. So I got the cash back but still its not something you want to have to deal with one day before you leave NZ.

Overall it wasn't a really bad hostel, I just wouldn't stay here again as ive stayed in hostels with better standards and don't think theres any excuse for places not up to scratch.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberrybliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

Friendly, comfortable hostel. Good size rooms and clean facilities. The unique decor makes it a change from the usual hostels.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#23 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#15 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Property: Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Address: 1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Themed Hostel with Cartoon and Movie Characters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing