We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you paid for!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Ranked #46 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get what you paid for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I don't get the whining here about this place.

Its cheap. Its a bit tacky. Tonnes of character. The minimum you expect from a cheap hostel.

Yes it was loud and a bit grimy but hey, if you wanted better...pay more!

Love the art around the place. Wouldn't stay again but enjoyed my 2 night stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review.
We now have an incentive to improve our place
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
9
21
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I traveled with a group of 6 students so we were looking for a nice cheap place, this was the cheapest around, $22 for our own room. The guy who owns the place is awesome! He gave us coupons for $1 beer down the street and got us discounts on rafting. He was very helpful in explaining where the grocery store, bus station, etc were. The entire place is painted with a South West theme. The room was good, just exactly what you needed. We used the TV room and rented a few movies. Didn't use the kitchen or the hot tub but both looked fine. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We shared a 6 person room for $22, but we had the option to stay in another large room for $20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for the review
It means the work we are doing is appreciatted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

3 nights in rotarua.
Cactus jack gave us a warm welcome. The main negative for us was that the room was uncomfortably hot and the beds were knackered, and mattresses need replacing and lights improving.
There are lots of friendly long residents, we liked that.
Kitchen good and social areas and tv good. Sad that the lions lost. . Bugger. Excellent location, helpful; slightly quirky staff - really helped us get to the best activities. Really disappointing that the hostel location shifted by 2 blocks when we went out jogging!!!! Lol

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind words
Good eviews enourage us in our efforts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hostel is quirky; a host of long-term residents with varied personalities and stories to tell give it a more colourful vibe than your standard hostel. This may not be to everyone's taste - if you're not particularly friendly or a good conversation maker, then avoid this place. If you want to meet people and have some good chat, then stay! The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is pretty big for the number of people staying, the decor is cheesy western, and there is a pool table, internet access and dvd rooms. Staff are friendly and always available, and it's in the centre of Rotorua and hard to miss - look for the bright yellow building with a stetson on top and cacti outside!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finbarr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words we will strive to maintain our standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at cactus jacks! Although it is a bit under construction that won't disturb your sleep at all, and we thought all the guys that worked there that we met in the kitchen were so lovely! Fantastic value for money, and both guys on reception were really helpful. Would recommend to any backpacker!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, it's nice to be appreciated. The upgrades are still continuing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Character? Lots. A Tijuana experience. I applaud whoever turned a pretty old, run-down place into that. But it doesn't compensate for the tiny, cramped rooms with old & dirty carpet, or for the feel that nothing is super clean, or for the loud noise at night (music, chatter). Not inviting or comfortable! Worst of all, we decided to leave 1 day early (couldn't take it anymore), and they refused to give our money back, even though we paid cash in advance. They argued, were rude and inflexible. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mileni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Front Office Manager at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We thank the reviewer for this review because in our unequal world all opinions count
Our response to this review is
This reviewer made the following threat “If you do not refund my money I will be write the worst review of this place.” My parents taught me the values of standing up to bullies and that you can never live your life in fear with people who try to push you around.
The reviewer booked through hostelworld and their terms and conditions are
“By making a reservation with your credit card or debit card, you agree that in the event that you cancel your reservation less than 24 hours from your agreed check-in date or that you fail to arrive by your agreed check-in date, you authorise the travel services provider to charge to your credit card or debit card without further reference to you an amount not exceeding one night's charge in the case of accommodation.” You, (The Reviewer) failed to cancel within the 24 hours of your second booking and so by Hostelworlds terms and conditions you are obligated to be charged for your first night of your separate booking. Your family had booked during the Christmas period and consistently complained about how the majority of services closed down for Christmas. We in New Zealand are a Christian country, and celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ often means a number of businesses are closed. The reviewer was rather frustrated with these closures and moaned consistently as it limited their ability to experience many of Rotorua’s Attractions.
Much of this frustration was then, I felt directed at me, which I have little control of.. The reviewer’s consistent moaning disrupted many of the other guests stay who were trying to enjoy the festivities especially at a time when they would like to be at home with their families. The majority of people who stay at Cactus Jacks love their stay. We also noticed that some people commented on how the vibe of the place improved with the reviewer’s departure. .We have to congratulate the reviewer for the courage to carry out the threat that was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The place was ok, to be honest not the best place we have stayed. Our room was soo hot it was really difficult to sleep at night and couldn't really open the window as it lead onto the roof of the next building. The kitchen was under repair and the pots we used to cook our food left our dinner tasting of Rust. The owner and his son however were very nice and were always there to help with any questions of the local area. They recommended we try the Canopy Tour which was really quite expensive @ $129 pp, and we nearly didn't do it because of this but it was totally worth it as it was a 3 hour event. We Stayed in a double private with own bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, When we are made aware of issues we address them.
We have placed a fan in the room to alleviate the heat that Rotorua has been experiencing.
Have checked the pots and couldn't find any dirty or rusty ones that is a mystery because the pots are stainless steel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Property: Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Address: 1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Themed Hostel with Cartoon and Movie Characters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing