We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quirky Happy Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Ranked #49 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Auckland
1 review
“Great Quirky Happy Place”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Really enjoyed staying at Cactus Jacks, it had an amazing feel to it and I had a great night sleep which was wonderful, I stayed in the 6 share lady's dorm which was spacious, clean and colourful.

The manager is putting a lot of work into improvements so if you stay and have any ideas they're really open to hearing what you have to say. The manager and his sons (since it's family run) are really friendly and helpful.

My stay in Rotorua was made all the more memorable for having stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLove80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    18
    9
    19
See reviews for
9
23
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bundaberg
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Staff were great - Dan on check-in and the owner. Tea/coffee/sugar provided. Free DVDs with deposit, free thermally heated pool. The kitchen was fine.
You have to walk outside the rooms a few metres to get to the facilities which might get uncomfortable in rain and NZ winter. It rained when we were there and there were puddles in the passageway and toilets, but I mentioned this to the owner and he said he'd move it up the list of priorities and fix it.
They had taken some time with their Mexican Theme and had a massive cactus garden out the front.
We got 10% off vouchers for the thermal park, advice on the best places to go, and free drink vouchers for the Pig and Whistle. That was all good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This place is horrendous. The staff are friendly enough but totally unfussed about your experience, the rooms are old, dirty and in need of a total renovation - the window didn't shut and there was a hole in the door. The shared bathrooms are dark, dirty and sticky. Other guests were talking in the courtyard until the early hours despite the hostel rule of quiet after 10pm.

The website suggested it would be cowboy themed - even this wasn't achieved!

We would not stay here agin if you paid us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I arrived in Rotorua with out securing accommodation's, when I made my way into town from the airport I proceeded to find a room, as it seemed a very popular rock concert was being featured in Rotorua and the availability of rooms was limited, I came upon Castus Jacks only by chance, the owner met me as I entered the hostel, from the outset his concern was to assist me in any way possible, his facility was completely booked up, so he quickly jumped on the phone and began calling anyone he thought might have a room for me. He made at least half a dozen calls before securing a place for me to sleep that night. The next night I returned and booked a room with Castus jacks, all I can say is thank you so much for helping a solo traveller in a time of need, All the best Danny Horan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloRider_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

It was awesome. People running the hostel were really good fun and very helpful and there was a great atmosphere you can't get at any other hostel. Plus it's very central and a guaranteed good time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrychundico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is my second time staying at Cactus Jacks and I didn't think it could get any better than the first time but I was wrong the second time was GREAT!
Amazing hospitality from the very eye catching men from behind the counter which just added an extra bonus too this trip.
The Kitchen is spacious and the newly renovated games room saw some great nights.
Great shower/toilet facilities and excellant cosy rooms =).

I would reccommend this as my favourite backpackers!
Thanks Guys (We will definetly be back soon)!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I'll start with the good... the kitchen, large and spacious and clean. One younger member of staff is nice and helpful. The bad...another older member not so much.TV didnt work in the common room. They were in the middle of renovating when we were there but that wasnt the issue. it was the sounds of people, spitting, arguing and swearing at night and morning. Shower had no hot water. There just wasnt a good vibe about this place there are nicer backpackers around. We backpacked all around new zealand and this was the worst.place we stayed. Im not a fussy person, as long as a place is clean, has hot water for a shower and i feel comfy and not on edge in a place -im happy. In this place it was clean but didnt meet the rest of my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superbunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#23 of 57 in Rotorua
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#14 of 57 in Rotorua
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#13 of 57 in Rotorua
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge Backpackers
Spa Lodge Backpackers
#10 of 57 in Rotorua
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Property: Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Address: 1210 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Themed Hostel with Cartoon and Movie Characters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing