We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 24 March 2014. Charming and really helpful owners. Rotorua accommodation seems to be mainly motels. Difficult to imagine that anywhere else could rival The Sport of Kings. Rooms are a good size with useful kitchenette. Well decorated and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the swimming pool after a long and busy day. Cooked breakfasts were delicious and not expensive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Montythecat461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    220
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
398
553
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It would be hard to find more welcoming hosts than Tristen Pete and of course Mikayla. Fountains of knowledge about the area and unbelievably helpful - Tristen even took out my washing so I didn't have to wait in until it had finished. The units are very clean and comfortable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It is this sort of review that I love to write. Pete, Tristen and little Mikayla are a delightful family, and run the Sport of Kings motel. The motel itself is well designed and maintained to a high standard, and is clean and comfortable. Our room had an ensuite geothermally heated Jacuzzi spa bath (kept at a very comfortable 36degC) as well as a conventional bathroom with excellent shower. TVs in the sitting room and bedroom, a kitchenette, and free WIFI.

The motel also has a decent sized swimming pool, geothermally heated to ~34degC.

The material side of the motel is fine, what makes this motel great are the folk running it. They are genuinely friendly and kind. For example: my partner and I like to walk on holiday, and there was one walk that my partner had expressed a desire to do, and this involved getting to the trailhead via boat. Pete investigated for us whether the water taxi was operating and discovered, to our obvious disappointment, that it wasn’t running. Pete, who also runs Eagle Safaris, offered to boat us to the trailhead. The day was very memorable, as it included being taken by boat to isolated hot water springs, and opportunity to see some very old Maori rock art. And, in order to prevent us getting our boots wet, a piggyback to and from the boat and the shore!

The 8-mile track (Tarawera Trail) from the trailhead back to the car park is excellent, and if you enjoy walking this is a must in Rotorua.

Recommend this place? You bet!

Room Tip: I do not think it is possible to go wrong with room selection here. But rooms with ensuite spa bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from the main drag of Fenton St so the place is nice and quiet. I have stayed here twice now, once on business and now once with my girlfriend. The owners were so hospitable and extremely accommodating. The property is pet friendly which is very important to me. The room I had most recently was awesome - great size in spotless condition with a car park right outside the door. Only fault I could offer was that the conjoining door between the rooms did not offer much sound insulation (first trip). Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigH364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

3 night stay for my honeymoon. I've stayed in 30-40 motels in my life and this experience is right up in the top. There isn't much I would change. Comes with a bed that doesn't sag, ensuite, TV, DVD player available on request, free heated private sauna, free heated pool, free coffee/tea/milk/biscuits, free wireless internet, laundry facilities for a few dollars, and my deal involved a cooked breakfast. The thing that struck me about this place was the friendliness of the staff - they must see hundreds of people a week, yet seem to know all about you and genuinely want you to enjoy the most out of your holiday. As an added bonus, they have discount vouchers to most of the tourist places you'll visit, printed on a special Sport of Kings Motel pamphlet - discounts that I haven't been able to find or match in the tourist information centre. No idea where they got it from, but saved me about $50-100 all up.

Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent two nights at the Sport of Kings. I loved the bird pictures! But aside from that... this is a really well-appointed, well-presented motel tucked away in a tranquil residential street. The staff were friendly and well-informed, with lots of ideas to help us get the best out of our time in Rotorua. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stay at Sport of Kings whenever I am in Rotorua. The the units have recently been renovated to a high standard but this is not the main reason I stay. The place is always clean, warm and comfortable, but more importantly quiet! As Sport of Kings is not on the main road there is little if any traffic noise and the units themselves, with concrete walls get no noise from adjoining units. I always get a good sleep here. Good breakfasts too!

Room Tip: The units with individual spa pools out the back make for a relaxing way to end the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing