We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a welcoming reception when we arrived at this family run hotel. We had our WIFI code delivered to our suite by their 2 year old 'hostess in training' Mikahyla. They also brought us a DVR and movies to watch. The room was clean and comfortable and the use of the private hot tub was a bonus. We would have enjoyed staying there longer as we didn't have time to use the heated pool and BBQ area. It was nice that it was off the main strip which offered us a quiet stay. The smell of the sulphur at night took getting used to but the hotel was a perfect stop off point to see the most unique sights of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed just for one night, booking 2 rooms.

Exceptionally friendly staff, booking process very efficient.

Woke to find the manager, Pete, washing my car windscreen ready for our departure - what more can I say !!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were so glad that we stayed at The Sport of Kings Motel - It is rare to meet owners that really make you feel 'part of the family', but it seems that this is central to the way that this motel operates; nothing is too much trouble. The welcome was great, and Pete (the manager) was more than happy to offer recommendations as well as discounts and wanted to ensure that our trip to Rotorua was a great one. The room was a good size for us, and the private thermal pool was awesome for relaxing after a day of hiking/ rafting etc. I am sure if you asked Pete for anything with reference to the room he would do his best to help. My other half managed to leave his watch in the room after we checked out, & within an hour or so, we received a call to let us know so that we could come round & pick it up. It is great to stay at such an honest place. The location was great - it is slightly set back from the main throughfare where the majority of motels are located, which means it is much, much quieter than a lot of the other accommodation options. In spite of this, it only took a couple of minutes to drive into the town centre. A great place to stay & perfect for everything we required on our break. Would not stay anywhere else other than Sport of Kings if I re-visit Rotorua.

Room Tip: A room with a thermal pool is a definite must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

this place was really great - really friendly helpful staff, nice warm pool and a jacuzzi in the room!!! Sweet!!! I have to write more characters so here is a sentence that says nothing more than what im saying now... or does it ... open your mind...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezzaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights and cooked each night on the barbecue which was a great facility. The rooms were clean and comfortable, if a little small. We really enjoyed the private spa (so glad I booked that extra) and the outdoor pool looked inviting although we didn't use it.

One of the most important things when you arrive after a long journey is the welcome you receive, and this was spot on. The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Do consider the private spa option. However, you are asked not to use these after 10pm to avoid cau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The thing that really makes this stay good is the people that run it. Nothing is too much trouble, they are so friendly and helpful. It wasn't the best of the places we stayed but there were 2 comfortable recliner chairs which we used on the night we stayed in. There isn't really a patio area as such but you can sit just outside your room. Two chairs would be nice, there is only one for some reason. We felt relaxed and welcome during our stay. They will also loan DVD players and DVDs if you are staying in which we did one evening as the weather was quite bad. It is quite a way out of the main town, but there are takeaways and restaurants within a short drive or a long walk. The only reason I've put average for cleanliness was that the shower hose and fittings had a build up of gunge. The room itself was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermajestyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by manager of Nautilus in Napier. Conventional looking single floor motel but pretty much refurbished. Small bathroom but compensated by in room large spa naturally heated and ready to go. Most helpful joint managers with good friendly advice. An easy drive to Fenton St eateries. Wifi is offered on an allocated per device basis. Given a slip for each device and showing $15 charge. This did not get charged to room but was a bit worrying at the time. Best to have management explain their plan to you. Owners putting in a great effort to please.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JulietDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay! Thank you for mentioning the refurbishment. We are constantly upgrading and refurbishing and are about to start refurbishing our 1 bedroom spa apartment with new kitchens, bathrooms, floors etc. It is very exciting as they are going to look amazing! Let us know when you are coming back over as it would be great to have you to stay again so you can see the transformation of the rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing