We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest people running this motel. very helpful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The thing that really makes this stay good is the people that run it. Nothing is too much trouble, they are so friendly and helpful. It wasn't the best of the places we stayed but there were 2 comfortable recliner chairs which we used on the night we stayed in. There isn't really a patio area as such but you can sit just outside your room. Two chairs would be nice, there is only one for some reason. We felt relaxed and welcome during our stay. They will also loan DVD players and DVDs if you are staying in which we did one evening as the weather was quite bad. It is quite a way out of the main town, but there are takeaways and restaurants within a short drive or a long walk. The only reason I've put average for cleanliness was that the shower hose and fittings had a build up of gunge. The room itself was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermajestyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by manager of Nautilus in Napier. Conventional looking single floor motel but pretty much refurbished. Small bathroom but compensated by in room large spa naturally heated and ready to go. Most helpful joint managers with good friendly advice. An easy drive to Fenton St eateries. Wifi is offered on an allocated per device basis. Given a slip for each device and showing $15 charge. This did not get charged to room but was a bit worrying at the time. Best to have management explain their plan to you. Owners putting in a great effort to please.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JulietDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay! Thank you for mentioning the refurbishment. We are constantly upgrading and refurbishing and are about to start refurbishing our 1 bedroom spa apartment with new kitchens, bathrooms, floors etc. It is very exciting as they are going to look amazing! Let us know when you are coming back over as it would be great to have you to stay again so you can see the transformation of the rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

the only thing I hate about doing reviews is it makes my favourite place too busy, but in this case I think these operators deserve to be full every night.
We stayed here for about a week and were made welcome from day one in this immaculately presented complex.
I room spa...constantly full.....lovely Pool and BBQ area...good sized rooms.....ample parking....quiet location.....top service.
These are all things I hoped to get and wasn't disappointed with any of them.
We had three unit booked by different couples and all made the same comments.
We even had our car windscreens cleaned in the morning...how good is that!

Room Tip: they are all good from what i've seen. it all depends on the size you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review!! It was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay and we look forward to your next visit!! We are so pleased to hear that enjoyed our motel. It is wonderful to have the in room spas, heated outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area and all located on a quiet residential street so you can relax in quiet peaceful surrounding!
Take care and let us know next time you are back up this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Large comfortable room, quiet but convenient location. Facilities good - small, warm pool and spa pools for residents' use, breakfast brought to room and good, hosts very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay! It is great being located on a quite residential street, it is so quite you do not realise you are in the middle of the city and so close to many famous attractions! Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

OK, so it's not the most spacious of studios (No 3), the view from our front window was not great, there was nowhere to sit out with a glass of wine, we had only one relaxing chair and had to park our car the other side of the office ...

BUT freely available access to a lovely hot tub that you can use privately with towels provided, a very nice pool area and a really friendly and helpful couple in Ian and Jyl make up for it.

Add to this the fact that wifi is free and works very well and the studio is nicely appointed, spotlessly clean and has a bathroom that is spacious and beautifully equipped with a hot walk-in shower and our conclusion is that Sport of Kings gives good value for money.

It's a short drive into the main centre and well positioned for most of the area's geothermal attractions.

TIP: Visit the town's public Kuirau Park to see many geothermal wonders for free. You can also bathe your feet in specially adapted hot pools.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness, our team does a fantastic job and this is evident as soon as you walk into a room! Being located on a quite residential street yet amongst all of the other motels, it is nice and quite but still close to many famous Rotorua attractions. Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating and friendly owners. The room was spotless and well appointed. A little bit of a walk from the centre of town (I should have researched this before booking) but a good opportunity to walk off dinner! Didn't try the pool but it looked good!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Shtfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool, is wonderful, you must come back with more time to try it out! It is a wonderful way to relax after a busy day! Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our stay was excellent from the very beginning. The owners are wonderful. We were just stopping through Rotorua for 1 night en route to Wellington and the owners' recommendations made the most of our time in Rotorua and helped make it one of the more memorable and enjoyable cities we visited. They are incredibly considerate and informative. All the little things really added up - from complimentary cookies, milk & internet to booking our cultural experience to providing discount vouchers to places of interest - this place is a great value for the cost. The rooms are a little older and basic but very clean w/ new TV, stove and refrigerator. What I appreciated the most was the owners' honesty and accuracy with their recommendations. Not to mention you can see a geyser every 45 min - 1.5 hours from the motel (that is better than Lady Knox - the one you pay for!) Thanks again for your hospitality and contributing to a wonderful vacation in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! I was a pleasure to have you to stay! Being Rotorua locals we know all the best places and things to see and do in our amazing city and we love being able to pass this knowledge onto our guest so they experience all the wonderful things to do - many that are not on the tourist trails!! And having discount vouchers available is an added bonus! Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing