We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME STAY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Takapuna, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AWESOME STAY!!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed two nights last week at Sport of Kings Motel. We have stayed at many Motels in Rotorua over the years. This would be by far be the best. Tristen and Pete are great Hosts nothing was too much trouble. Booked a one bedroom spa unit, lovely decor, the unit was very clean with Lazi-boy chairs in the lounge. My husband and I loved the outdoor pool which was lovely and warm. We would recommend Sport of Kings if ever you are in Rotorua. Have already told all our friends and family. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple1821937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are lovely rooms having everything you need including the super comfy lazy boy recliner chairs and you own private spa pool - the perfect way to relax after a busy day and you sleep so well afterwards!
And our geothermally heated outdoor swimming pool is so nice, the perfect temperature to relax in day and night and especially nice at night with the lovely lighting!
We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your family and friends!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    226
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
410
562
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our two nights stay. Never having been in NZ, the hosts, Tristen and Pete, helped us with planning our activities in the area. All the suggestions were on target and we enjoyed everything that was recommended. Breakfasts delivered to the room were excellent. Pete, the host is also a fishing guide. We hired him to take us fishing and he was terrific. We caught fish and even if we had not, his demeanor, professionalism and stories made the trip an experience that went beyond our expectations. The fishing trip was one of the highlights of our trip to NZ. Should we ever visit Rotorua again, there is no doubt that Sport of Kings would be our first choice..

John & Betty from Texas and Eva from Hong Kong

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello John, Betty and Eva, it was such a pleasure to have you to stay with us - we wish you could have stayed longer!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your fishing charter with Pete - he is one of the top guides in Rotorua and as you can see is absolutely passionate about fishing and the outdoors! With many years experience he knows the best places, times and ways to catch fish and I do not think you could find a guide who would catch more or who would deliver such a professional, entertaining and wonderful experience! And it was delicious!!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best things to see and do in Rotorua and I am so pleased you enjoyed everything you did in our beautiful city!
Take care and please let us know if you are back this way - we would love to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay in Rotorua was rather brief unfortunately with only one night, but I was very pleased to have chosen this motel from the selection on the internet. The family running it are lovely and were very helpful in their suggestions for things to do in Rotorua on our tight schedule. They booked dinner for us at a scenic restaurant while we were checking in and told us the best time to visit thermal areas to avoid tourist buses. The room was very clean and tidy and a soak in the outside thermally heated swimming pool was just the thing after a busy day touring. The motel is only a short drive to the city centre but is very quiet with no traffic noise. I would definitely stay there again when returning to Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Owner at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Our heated thermally heated swimming pool is the best way to relax after a busy day - fantastic during the day and amazing at night with the gorgeous lighting - and you sleep so well afterwards!
There are so many things to do in our beautiful city and being Rotorua locals we know the best kept secrets of our beautiful surroundings! We love helping people cram as much as they can into their time with us and we will do everything we can to help!!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family. All the way from the Scottish Highlands on an 'autumn break'. Booked the spa suites, three in total, all of which afforded very comfortable accommodation. Superbly sited in a quite area, close to the amenities, and the local knowledge of our hosts ensured our short stay was packed with many things to fill our days. The optional breakfast was a delight and highly recommended as you don't have to leave early to source a convenient restaurant. All in all, a superb service from our hosts who thoroughly deserve the super comments that they have attracted on TA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family and we enjoyed your stay as much as you did!
Being located on a quiet residential street you do not get normal city noise yet we are amongst all of the motels and famous Rotorua attractions - the perfect quiet place to relax after a busy day!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best things to see and do in our amazing city and it is wonderful being able to share this knowledge with our guests, especially those who have come from overseas to explore the best parts of what New Zealand has to offer!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts - it is great being able have breakfast delivered without having to step outside - you really feel like you are on holiday!!
Take care and let us know if any of you are back this way - it would be wonderful to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with a group of 5 doing the normal tourist route around Nz-stayed for two nights. Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean and all that you needed for a relaxing stay. Nice lazi-boy chairs made watching TV lovely when we finished a busy day of sightseeing, I find sitting on bed watching tv makes my neck ache! Beautiful heated pool area even impressed my hard to impress Grandmother! The hosts were so helpful and welcoming without suffocating you with trying to make a good impression. They were very knowledgable and came across as a really lovely family very proud if their business. (Lush little daughter which they have included on their business cards, so cute!) They even gave us discounts for entry into venues in the area, great! Paid $18 for a full cooked breakfast which took the chore out of driving into town to find a cafe and gave us valuable time so we could eat and ship out early to enjoy the treats of Rotorua. A little out of town but we had a designated driver in our group so evenings out for meals where not a problem. Taxi services are good in the area so you could always do that of you wanted a few drinks out in town. Price of stay was reasonable considering we stay in Rotorua quite often. We have used other motels/hotels and paid less but got absolute dirty sheds, this accommodation was certainly the best we've been to so far!! We will be back. :D

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalou_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Sitting on a bed watching TV is not comfortable at all and that is the reason we have put the most comfortable lazy boy recliner chairs in most of our rooms - they are the best after a long day of sightseeing!
And the private spa pools and heated outdoor swimming pools are fantastic too - I am so pleased we 'impressed your hard to impress grandmother'!! :)
We are proud of our business and what we offer as we have a wonderful quiet homely motel with everything our guests need and it is so nice to see people enjoying our beautiful city!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you all again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room had beautiful decor, including stunning art work on the walls.
And as well as being vert quite, set back of the main road, our room had the private built in spa, just outstanding after a long day sight seeing around Rotorua.
Pete & Tristen were very lovely, supper friendly hosts.

Room Tip: I highly recommend getting a room with private spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you both to stay!
The artwork is amazing and unique and we are very proud to have the originals on display in the office and prints in all of our rooms!
Being set just of the main road we do not get traffic noise so you can relax in peace and quiet in the private spa pools or in our thermally heated outdoor swimming pool - perfect after a busy day!!
Take care and let us know next time you are up this way - it would be great to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Tristan and other staff were very helpful. Without doubt they put customers first and helped to plan out seeing local attractions in a limited time. Stay was fantastic and relaxing as one would hope a holiday should be. Will visit again the next time I'm in Rotorua.

Room Tip: All rooms were quite, I didn't think any room was loud even with high occupancy. The neighbourho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
We have a fantastic job and being able to help our guest get the most out of their stay in our beautiful city is what we are here for and it is great to hear that people like the help that we give!
And having discount available for many famous attractions is also an added bonus for our guests!
Being located in a residential area just of the main street is wonderful as we do not get the traffic noise yet are still central to all there is to see and do!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing