We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sport of Kings Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed their and would not hesitate to stay again. Very accommodating. Very obliging and genuine hosts. The pool area looks amazing, and can recommend the private spa for relaxing in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review . It was a pleasure to have you all to stay again and we look forward to your next visit!!
The swimming pool does look great - it was nice before but is really amazing now! We have just added some fairy lights so it is now really magical at night - so nice to lay back under the stars and relax! The perfect way to end the day! And you sleep so well afterwards!!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time you are down this way!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    220
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
394
551
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights in July and had a single bedroom unit with a spa pool.

We had a lovely modern room with en suite and enjoyed the wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts.

Thanks Tristen for making our getaway so fabulous

Room Tip: Our spa pool got a hiding, it was great and soooo relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you both to stay and I am so pleased you had a great relaxing break!! So well deserved!!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are wonderful, with all the comforts of home and your own private spa pool - perfect to relax after a busy day and you sleep so well after a nice soak!
Take care and let us know next time you have time for a break - it would be great to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My seven year old daughter and I stayed for two nights. Our first time in NZ. I was nervous being in a new place but Pete and Tristen made us feel welcome, anticipated our every need and helped plan our days in Rotorua to maximise our visit. The room was warm, comfortable and perfectly clean and Pete picked us up from the airport and offered to drive us to the shop if we needed any supplies. Too kind.

Nothing was too much trouble and next time we come, we won't be staying anywhere else but here. I feel like we made new friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Jasmine and Gwen. Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was such a pleasure to have you both to stay and we are looking forward to your next visit!
We meet so many people in the job that we do and it is people like yourselves that make our job so enjoyable and make us so passionate about what we do! Thank you!
See you again soon!!
Pete, Tristen and Mikayla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in August last year on a recommendation from a friend. We stayed in the family unit. 2 bedrooms - perfect for our family of 5. I found the unit spotless, well appointed, quiet - everything I needed. The owners were lovely really sweet and no request was too much trouble. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that a friend recommended us to you!
Our two bedroom apartments are great for families and groups of friends or sports people. These rooms have just been totally redecorated including new bathrooms, kitchens, flooring, carpets etc and are now even better than last time you stayed. You must come back to see how they look now!
Our pool area has just been landscaped and is looking fantastic too!
Let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

In a quiet street just off the main road the Sport of Kings is a great motel. The units are modern, quiet, clean and comfortable and having our own spa was great. The manager is friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay!
Being situated just off Fenton Street, we don't get any of the heavy traffic noise day and night yet we are amongst everything and close to many of Rotoruas main attractions. The perfect place to relax in a peaceful surrounding!
Al of our rooms have been modernised and are looking great!! We have just replaced some kitchens, bathroom, carpets, flooring, curtains! And our pool are has been landscaped and is looking amazing!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Have only just returned home from our three day stay at Sport of Kings and are already planning our next trip to stay! Pete and Tristen (and baby Mikayla) are genuinely interested in making your stay comfortable, and went out of the way considering our family needs- including a considered room change. The rooms are well appointed, and the spa and pool were well used in between doing the "touristy" sites in Rotorua.
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd_and_Car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all to stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
The spas and pool are great - especially with kids who spend many happy hours enjoying them! And they sleep so well after a good soak!
Take care and let us know when you have the dates for your next stay! We look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungiven
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed one night here as a family of four. It was clean and warm and very well presented with every facility you could need for a short term self catering stay. We got a great welcome from the staff who were helpful and accommodating. It actually is better than the photos on the website, so I don't know if it needs updating but we were certainly very happy with what we found.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smasheroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Yes, you are right, our motel is a lot better than the photos on websites! Over the past few months we have upgraded some of our rooms with new kitchens and bathrooms, new carpets and flooring and new curtains and have landscaped the pool area. We have a photographer coming tomorrow to take some new photos so the photos on line will be up to date! The rooms and pool are looking amazing and we are excited about getting the new photos up for everyone to see!
Thanks again and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing