We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel nice spa's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great hotel nice spa's”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Warm spa. Rooms very spacious. Great heated pool. Rooms being refreshed some painting occurring jul 13. Spa very private in seperate enclosed area on back of the room, great for privacy but lacking in character. 10 min walk to restaurants and supermarket (count down). Discounts for local activities offered by reception. Car park a bit small for larger vehicles.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
We have just finished doing up some of our rooms hence the painting and they are looking great! We have some new kitchens and bathroom, new carpets and flooring and new curtains in some of our rooms!
The 1 bedroom apartment which you stayed in is a wonderful room for a couple or family. The private spa pools are great! Thank you for your comment on the spa areas - we love to hear how we can keep improving our facilities and because of your comments we are in the process of getting some artwork done for the spa rooms so soon they will have a lot more character.
Take care and let us know next time you are over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again and see what you think of our improved spa areas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    224
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
404
559
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recieved a very friendly welcome,nothing was a problem,our rooms very clean and warm,and we had our own spa.Great value for money and they have a courtesy van for the airport,would defnitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleausre to have you to stay! I hope your flight home was good!
We like to pride ourselves on being 4 1/2 star service at a 4 star price so that our guests get great value for money and enjoy their time in our wonderful motel! And having the spa pools and heated outdoor swimming pool is a bonus at such a great price!!
Out geothermal heating is wonderful and keeps the rooms at a nice cosy temperature no matter how cold it is outside! And the thermal also keeps our spa's and pool warm and gives us never ending hot water for our showers! Great for these cold wintery months!
Take care and let us know if you are up ths way again! It would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent one night down in Rotorua and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sport of Kings. The owners were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful the whole time. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a private spa (so nice to relax in), which was perfect for us. The room had everything we needed and was very comfortable and clean. The owners made a great effort to consult us about our plans and readily offered discounts vouchers and advice for all the activities we had planned to do. Only wish we could've stayed for longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both to stay with us!
Our 1 bedroom apartments are great for a coupe or small family. With a full kitchen and bathroom and your own private spa pool you have all the comforts of home plus more!
Rotorua is a fantastic city and we love to help our guests plan their to time to see as much as they can. Being Rotorua locals we know of many secret spots which are amazing and love to share these special places with our guests! And having discounts vouchers available for many of the wonderful attractions is a bonus!!
Take care and let us know when you get a chance ot come back and spend more time! It would be great to have you both to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in 2-bedded unit, requiring 3 separate sleeping areas so the managers were quite happy for us to move a bed into the lounge (and there was sufficient space!) Lovely modernised unit, well-heated (which was appreciated, seeing how cold it was outside). Very helpful people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleausre to have you all to stay! We want our guests to be comfortable and will do everything we can to make their stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible!
Our family rooms are lovely with new bathrooms and kitchens, carpets, flooring, curtains and bedding, they are lovely, modern and fresh!
Our geothermal heating is fantastic and keeps the rooms cosy warm on the coldest of nights. And keeps our water, spas and pools hot day and night! And your shower water never runs out! Fantastic!!
Take care and let us know if you are back down this way - it woud be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this motel via the Trip Advisor site, and it did not disappoint. A fantastic place to stay, accommodation is very well presented, couple of hot tubs, and a pool, along with hosts who cannot do enough for their guests. If you are going to Rotorua, book now!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWWChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! I am so pleased you found us through Trip Advisor - it is a fantastic site and great to know that what you book is what you get!!
Some of our rooms have private spa pools and if you choose a room without your own private spa we have two private spa pools you are welcome to use. We also have our newly landscaped outdoor swimming pool and BBQ you are welcome to use - it is a great place to relax!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it woud be great to have to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a find! We stayed in an apartment with a well-equipped kitchen separating the parents' and children's rooms. Super-large private geothermal spa in a room off the parent's room was a big hit. The newly renovated pool had just been opened and really is beautiful - it was lovely on a cold winter's day. Best part was the amazingly friendly managers who were so helpful with their local knowledge of places to go and things to do. Breakfast was also perfect. We stayed an extra night as we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Our 1 bedroom spa apartments are great for families. With a full kitchen and your own private spa pool - you have all the comforts of home and more!
And our newly landscaped outdoor heated pool is fantastic! With the addition of a water feature and a hand rail for easy access to the pool, it is perfect for the whole family! It is beautiful under the stars and night and you sleep so well afterwards!
We love being able to help our guests get the most out of their time in Rotorua and it is great being able to help plan your stay. It is also wonderful being able to offer our guests discount vouchers for many of the wonderful Rotorua attractions! We are always keen and willing to help!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to have you all to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room. It was perfect. Ample space for us and the kids. They have recently renovated the kitchen. Bathroom is great. Love the heat lamps.
The service is top notch. You really feel you want to stay longer. They even gave us an extra heater for the kids room...and free biscuits

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForsterSensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for our email. It was a pleasure to have you all to stay!
Our family rooms are great with two bedrooms, full kitchen with large fridge and dishwasher, bathroom and a large lounge, there is plenty of room for a family! These rooms have just been redecorated with a new kitchen, bathroom, repainted, carpets and flooring! And they look fantsastic.
And with thermal heating the rooms are always cosy but it you need a little extra warmth we have heaters for that extra blast!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way, it would be great to have you all to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing