We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again when we return...lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Would stay again when we return...lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing that the rooms had their own private spas. It was only on arriving at the hotel that it is obvious that most of the hotels do. Luckily for me I had picked the best one! We were greeted by a lovely lady when we arrived, it is obviously a family run business and they take a lot of pride in providing great service. They gave us milk and free internet and left us to it.
We had a one bedroom apartment and it was spacious, well stocked with equipment in the kitchen and the spa was amazing.
They advised us where to eat, gave us vouchers for various places and seemed interested on whether we had enjoyed our activities which i guess will help them know what to recommend to other people. We have made ourselves a promise to return to Rotorua and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the private spa...heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and fantastic to hear you will be back again!! It will be great to see you both!
Our spa pools are amazing - and perfect to have one in your room! The perfect way to relax after a busy day!
We are inerested in what our guests do and love to hear about their days activities. We are Rotorua locals so know a lot about our area and are always learning from others so we can pass information on to future guests so they can get even more from our beautiful city!!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New Zealand!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    222
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
398
554
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really very helpful and friendly staff (family who runs this motel), all our needs were very quickly solved and knowledge about local attractions impressive .This motel has many discounts on Rotorua attractions. Location - very close to the town and Te Puia, but also in very quiet area.Hot swimming pool (although it looks much bigger on the pictures) allows to take a "swim" even during chilly early morning or late evening Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
We are Rotorua locals so have a vast knowledge on local attractions and love to share this with our guests to make their stay even more enjoyable.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is great for a soak and the perfect way to relax after a busy day as are our private spa pools - and you sleep so well afterwards!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here mid February. First stay ever in a motel but I imagine everything a motel should be without being fancy. Clean;recently refurbished. very comfortable bed;adequate kitchenette to make breakfast;small pool;private spas;quiet. Attentive owners. All in all a true value for money experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosova14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - it is great to hear that we are the first ever motel you have stayed in - We hope that all your future stays in motels are just as good!
Our rooms are recently refurbished and we have an ongoing maintenance plan to keep all of our rooms and areas up to date and tidy so you and many more people like you can enjoy our motel in the years to come!
We do have everything you may need on holiday, rooms to suit many different requirements, private spa pools, heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry and BBQ - what more could you want on holiday!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

'Located south of town one block off the main street (Fenton St.); where most motels are located. Pricier hotels with smaller rooms and no kitchenette are located on Lake Rotorua, north of town. The motel manager will gladly take you to town in the motel vehicle, with no charge. This motel is about 30 minutes walk to town and 15 minutes walk to Whakarewarewa geysers. 20 minute walk to Te Puia geyser. It is very clean and has a good sized kitchen in a nice room. There are 2 spa baths with mineral waters for all to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We are located in a quiet side street just a one minute walk from Fenton Street where many of the Rotora Motels are situated. Being just off this main street we don't get the heavy traffic noise you get on the main drag - it is so nice and quiet and relaxing yet so close!
We have 10 spa pools on site, 8 in rooms with private spas and 2 other private spas for peope to use if they choose a room which does not have one in it!
Once again, thanks for your lovely review and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is slightly off the main road and the difference in noise level was great. We had a room with an en suite spa which was a real treat. The kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed a home cooked meal there. The beautifully clean pool was next to our unit and yet another way to relax. The hosts had lots of good information and we felt completely at home. We were sorry not to have time for a longer stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be equally well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleaure to have you to stay with us!
The spa pools are a real treat as is the heated outdoor swimming pool - beautifully warm and relaxing - you sleep so well after a nice soak!!
We are only a short 1 minute walk off the busy main Fenton Street and it is so quiet here away from the rush of the trucks and busy daily life!! The perfect place to relax!!
Let us know if you are back this way! it wold be great to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Superb! Everything we needed was there. All modern and clean. Plus extra lovely touches such as biscuits to have with our tea/coffee; swimming towels as well as bath towels; the best hairdryer I've ever used; parking spaces outside the rooms; free WiFi. There are 2 spas but we chose to use the outdoor pool which was very warm, we swam at night under the stars - awesome! The proprietors couldn't be more helpful. Tristen made us an excellent cooked breakfast at very short notice. And when I left my mobile phone charger behind Pete made plans to take it to the airport and find us because we happened to say we would be flying to Christchurch that afternoon. What amazing customer care! (As it happened we needed to go back for something else so they didn't need to go to the airport in the end.) The best motel we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you all to stay and we hope the rest of your time in New Zeaaland was just as enjoyable!!
We like our guests to feel comfortable and at home and all the little extras just make your stay just that little bit better!
What a shame you did not get time to try the spas as well as the pool - you will just have to come back again!!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way - it would be great to see you both again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed in places all over NZ at various price levels. This was the best. Great advice from our hosts. They were so helpful in telling us about the local area.


Wonderful rooms, can't praise the place highly enough! Spa pools were superb and a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markg1982sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! it is so nice to hear that you think our motel is the best - we do too!!
We are Rotorua locals and love the area we live and love to share our local knowledge with our guests so they get the most out of their time in our beautiful city!
And having people like you to stay make our job even more enjoyable!!
Our spa pools are great as is our heated outdoor swimming pool - the perfect palce to relax after a busy day!
Take care and let us know if you are ever over this way again - it would be great to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing