We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Penguin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

On our recent New Zealand holiday, we stayed at 10 different Motels/hotels and the owners of this motel ,Tristen and Pete are outstanding operators.They tick all the boxes,friendly,welcoming,helpful,excellent local knowledge and Pete is also a Hunting and Fishing guide.The motel itself is just off the main highway ,which means there is no traffic noise.The units are spotless,roomy,have every convenience of home,including 2 Jason recliner chairs.Something,I have never seen before,Pete often washes the windscreens of guests cars before they leave!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
We love our job and meeting people like yourselves make it even more enjoyable and if we can help to make your holiday better in any way we will try and do it!!
Our rooms are very comfortbale and roomy and our fantastic cleaning team pride themselves on the job they do in helping make your stay even more enjoyable.
Our Lazy-Boy recliner chairs are the most comfotable motel chairs and so many people have had an aftenoon nap in them - perfect way to relax after a busy day!
Take care and let us know when you are back this way - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    222
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
398
554
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very very nice and friendly staffs. Pete even drove us to the Polynisian Spa and took us back at night. Room is great, you can have Spa in your private pool. Cooking, WiFi etc are all available. We did enjoy the stay in this hotel, the top hotel in Rotorua with a very good price. 非常好

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Hua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. it was a pleasure to have you to stay and it is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us!!
Our spa pools are wonderful and are perfect after a long day of sightseeing as is our heated outdoor swimming pool!
We like our guests to be able to relax when they are here and hearing that you felt like 'Stay at Home' makes us think we are doing our job well! Just how we want you to feel!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way again - it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We (3 adults and 1 child) had checked in for 3 nights at the Sport Of Kings Motel on the 7th of March and were very pleased with the room (with spa) as well as the fantastic customer service from the hosts.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything we needed. Really enjoyed the spa as well.

The hosts were so friendly and helpful, they even provided suggestions on what activities we can do with the time we had as well as something child friendly for my 2year old. Furthermore they also provided us with discount vouchers for the activities and made bookings for us as well. You can just go to the reception and ask them for anything you need and they are always there with smile and the eagerness to help you out in any way they could....

Our only regret was not able to stay there longer... Anyway, we will definitely be coming back again :)

Thanks for the great detail on cleanliness and excellent customer service... keep up the great job!!!

Room Tip: you will definitely enjoy the room with the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we wish you could have stayed longer too - next time!!
We love our job and people like yourselves make it even more enjoyable. It is great to be able to share our knowlede of our beautiful city and surrounding districts with our guests so you get the most out of your time with us!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed two nights with two rooms booked and were very pleased with the service provided. The rooms were great meeting our expectations. No street noise which was also a plus. No need to worry about the location as the tours can collect you from the Motel. Supermarket near by which was good. Suitable for families also couples. The best thing about this Motel is the friendliness of the hosts and how they go the "extra mile". For example cleaning your car windscreen in the morning before you check out was a surprise! Spa pools are available for free but we did not use due to time constraints. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us!
What a shame you did not get to have a Spa - they are so wonderful after a busy day as is our heated outdoor pool! Next time!!
The local activity operators are great with many of them picking you up from outside our door which makes going out in the evening even more enjoyable!
We like to look after our guests how we would like to be looked after and cleaning your windscreens is just something we can do to make your journey onwards more enjoyable!
Take care and we look fowar do seeing you next time you are down this way!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was just the job on our tour of North Island. The lady owner is very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area and in fact picnicked there on our first night (a good supermarket 2mins by car). Also enjoyed the thermal pool later. It's a little out of the centre - a half hour's walk, but nice and quiet being in a residential area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Sue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool in fantastic, just the ticket after a long day and sitting poolside cooking your dinner on the BBQ, perfect!!
Our street name says it all - Peace Street. Less than 1 minute walk of busy Fenton Street, but so nice and quiet - the perfect place to be central but so quiet!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hosts at Sport of Kings are 5-star - these are people who love what they do and they do it well. We thought that washing the car windscreens was a nice touch!

The motel is clean and quiet and we had plenty of room. There wasn't any air conditioning which meant it was a little warm but this was common in several properties we stayed in during our visit to NZ.

We had a comfortable stay here and would recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We do love what we do and we feed off our guest and that is what makes our job so wonderful!!
All of our staff pride themselves on the job they do and the cleanliness of the rooms and helping our guests enjoy our beautiful city. It is great to hear that people appreciate the extra effort we put in!
Take care and let us know if you are back this way! It would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very friendly, helpful and obliging hosts.We stayed for two nights whilst touring the North Island and found the Sport of Kings an ideal venue. The motel is about a mile from the bars and
restaurants , however this was not a problem as the manager drove us into town to his favourite bar the Pig and Whistle.
The rooms are all set in a court yard with parking so very convenient with luggage etc. Our only slight concern would be the room sizes, they are not comparable for the same rates. Some are light and airy others quite dark and oppressive.
We found the small swimming pool ideal after a long day at the thermal parks together with private hot tubs for a relaxing end to the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleausre to have you all to stay!
We have many different room types which cater for different requirements. Some with large beds and some with larger kitchens, others with larger bathrooms for wheelchair access etc. We like to try and cater for everyone!
Our outdoor swimming pool is a wonderful way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing and it is great to hear you enjoyed it!
Take care ade let us know if you are back over this way! It would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing