We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful proprietors, but dated facilities in part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very helpful proprietors, but dated facilities in part”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a studio unit, and our comments echo those of another review, that it would benefit from upgrading. In particular the shower room appeared to date from the 1970s or 1980s, and though very clean, the sanitary ware has had it's day. Agree there was noise from adjoining unit - some International pistol shooters seemed to have insomnia at 4.30 am! Parking is tight and any noise seemed to reverberate round the inner courtyard. You can't avoid the sulphur smell in Rotarua, and it was quite noticeable on site despite filters on water supply. On plus points- owner very helpful in advising on Attractions; if you want a good takeaway - go to Pizza Library, 5 mins drive, quality pizzas in a quirky shop.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NJC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear what people have to stay.
We like to listen to what our guests say and since you review and another similar review, we have had plans drawn up for new bathrooms and kitchens in some of our rooms and these will be installed in May this year.
We like to keep our rooms to the standard our guests like and listening to reviews is a great way to hear what we should do to make our geusts stay even more enjoyable.
Thanks once again for you review. Please let us know if you are back this way again. It would be great tro have you to stay again and to show you the work we are constantly dong to keep our motel great!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    226
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
410
562
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We thought the owners/hosts provided wonderful service and were very helpful. Also the common areas (pool, gardens) are very nice. The private spas were also a nice treat.

We booked our room based on the high Trip Advisor ratings only, not on price. We were in a studio room, and felt that it was a little dark and dated inside - especially the bathroom. We also didn't like that we could hear our neighbours through the adjoining door to the room next door. I think that perhaps the one bedroom suites are the better choice.if you are looking for a room here.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a handicap access room - I wouldn't recommend unless you need it for this purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry the people in the room next to you were a bit noisy.
Thank you for your comment about your room and the dated bathroom. We like to listen to what our guests say and take advise from comments and since your review we have had plans drawn up for your bathroom and some other bathrooms and these will be installed in May this year. It is a constant job updating our facilites and we take on board what our guests say and work from there!
Thank you once again for staying with us and for letting us know your thoughts!
Please let us know if you are back this way! It will be great to see you again and for you to see the work we are doing to keep our guests happy!
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Definitely the best hosts of our trip. Very attentive and helpful. Had great suggestions for tourist attractions. We stayed 2 nights with our one year old and the room suited to our needs. Good value for the price. Clean and comfortable. Nice private spa. Only downfall was the extremely soft bed which is'nt my preference but of course others may prefer this. The owner personally cleans your windscreen in the morning - a lovely touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your loevly review! It was a pleasure to have the three of you to stay and I am pleased your enjoyed our motel.
We pride oursleves in the cleanliness of our rooms and all of our staff take pride in what they do and making your holiday perfect! We like to clean our guests windscreens as we know they have a long journey in front of them and anything we can do to make this more comfortable we try to do!
We hope the rest of your holiday was great! Let us know if you are ever back this way! It would be great to have you to stay again and see how big your baby has got!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My Father and I stayed at the Sport of Kings Motel for an overnight stay in Rotorua and might I say, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of service, cleanliness, amenities; the list goes on!

The managers were incredibly friendly and answered our typical tourist questions with a smile every time, even suggesting certain areas to go and places to see.

The amenities on offer compare to those of a large hotel, including a swimming pool and private spa baths (depending on which room you book.)

Another thing I was surprised with was just how large and spacious our room was and the overall cleanliness of the motel was top notch.

I'd suggest that if you're going to stay in Rotorua, stay at the Sport of Kings Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basscannonkickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your father to stay.
We are so pleased you like our motel and amenities. We like to keep everything in great condirtion and pride ourselves on the quality of our motel and amentities and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Take care and please let us know when you are back this way ! It would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Despite looking like a motel from outside, these rooms are wonderfully converted so the bedrooms are toward the back, and near a thermal spa. The bed was comfortable, the location excellent and the owners very helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Being located just off busy Fenton street, or motel has the luxury of not hearing the heavy traffic noise, and our street name says it all, Peace Street. The perfect place to stay and relax away from the loud, busy everyday noises.
We have everything you may need on site, private spas, heated outdoor swimming pool and a BBQ poolside you are welcome to us to cook your meals!
Take care and let us know if you are ever back this way again. It would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Room and facilities were better than we expected and we had 2 very comfortable nights. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and free wifi was much appreciated. Quite a walk into the town centre but then most people will have a car and its easy to find with supermarkets nearby. We even had a small earthquake. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review It is great to hear that you enjoyed our faciltiies. We pride ourselves on what we offer our guests and are constantly upgrading our facilties to keep everythig new and in great condition!
Take care and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've traveled a fair bit, and I can say with confidence that I've never met a pair of hotel managers who seemed as genuinely friendly as Tristen and Pete. Their hospitality was so welcoming. The accommodations are clean and roomy and while we chose a room with a private spa pool, we would've been happy with the heated swimming pool. The rooms and grounds were clean and well cared for. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_in_Gisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review - it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We love the job we do because of meeting wonderful people like yourself and being friendly and welcoming is so easy when we have such wonderful people walking through our doors!
Take care and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing