We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for enjoying relaxing holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Rauenberg, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect Location for enjoying relaxing holidays”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was staying in Sport of Kings last week and really enjoyed the friendly and warm atmosphere, with which Pete & Tristen welcomed me at their hotel. The Spa area and the hot Pool are perfect for relaxing after a day full of sightseeing in the Rotorua area. I definitely can recommend this hotel to anyone that plans to stay in Rotorua!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - and your photo is awesome!! The pool is so nice, especially in the evening and you sleep so well after a nice soak!!
The guest BBQ area looks great in the photo also - it is so nice to be able to be beside the pool and cook dinner and eat poolside!
I hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was great - see you next time you are over this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    226
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
410
562
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location, close to the center of town. Staff were super friendly, helpful, efficient and most of all, made us feel very welcomed. Insisted on giving us discounts for various tourist attractions, and proceeded to recommending places to go in Rotorua.
WiFi works very well, and the rooms were spotless clean. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you and great to hear you enjoyed staying with us!
We pride ourselves on our motel being wonderfully clean and you can see when you are here that all of our staff are proud of the job they do!!
We love meeting new people and helping them plan their holiday so they can experience the best there is to see in Rotorua and New Zealand!
Take care and let us know if you are in Rotorua again - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were relocated to Sport of Kings Motel from another Motel after it has sustained some sizable rain damage one day prior to our booking. I feel like we may have lucked out, because we had a wonderful time. It has a simple exterior, but is very friendly and welcoming. Everything you need is in the unit and the thermally-heated spa pool off our bedroom was the perfect relaxing end to a day packed with sight-seeing.

Check in with Pete and Tristan for any help you need planning your excursions, they know the area well and are more than willing to help.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a private spa pool (although everyone has access to a thermally heated outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It was a pleausre to have you here and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us!!
It is nice to have your own private spa pool but as you said, not all of our rooms have private pools, we do have two extra pools for others to enjoy!! Along with our beautiful outdoor heated swimming pool which all guests are welcome to use!
It was great to meet you and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your action packed day! Rotorua has so much to offer and we love to share this with our guests! Take care and let us know if you are ever down this way again! It would be great to have to you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Sport of Kings was one of my favorite places we stayed on our 10-city tour of New Zealand. Tristan was so helpful in suggesting activities for us to engage in; Te Puia was a great way to spend an evening. They have a convenient laundry facility on site, and she even brought our clothes from the dryer to the room for us so we didn't have to hang out and wait on them -- can't beat the service! But the best part was the private, geothermally heated hot tub right off our room. After hiking up waterfalls the previous day, it was exactly what I needed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - it is so nice to hear we are one of your favourite places in New Zealand! We try to make our guests feel like they are at home!!
It is really handy to have the guest laundry and there is nothing worse than having to hang around all day to do it so we are happy to look after it while you go off and enjoy our beautiful city! The private hot tubs are so nice and perfect after a long day/s to soak those weary bones!
Take care and let us know if you are ever back this way! It would be great to see you both again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was clean, well maintained and near superstores and the i-site. But the managers- Pete and Tristen were so helpful that there was no need for us to go to the i-site.
They were very friendly as well and they gave us the right advise for sightseeing in Rotorua.
The best part is that they have a private Jacuzzis in the hotel which you can use according to your convenience.
It is equipped with everything one would need in the kitchen.
Overall our stay in this hotel was memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay with us and I hope the rest of your holiday went well!!
We love helping our guests get the most out of their stay in Rotorua and New Zealand and love passing on our knowledge of our beautiful town and country so they can see the many beautiful sights we have!!
Our Jacuzzis are so nice, the best way to relax after a busy day and you sleep so well after a nice soak!
Take care and we hope to see you again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

First - the WiFi works ! Nice pool, tv in bedroom means you can let the baby go to sleep and watch tele - or a DVD that's available from reception. Hosts couldn't be more friendly, informative or helpful - would insist on calling tourist attractions to check price & availability. QUIET cos it's well back from the main road, but still walking distance to a few places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosskoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! It is so nice to hear that we are doing things right!!
The two televisions in our 1 bedroom apartments are really handy and good to hear they worked for you!
The short distance we are away from busy Fenton Street reduces the traffic noise incredibly and you would not even know you are right next to a main road!!
I hope the rest of your holiday was great! Let us know next time you visit New Zealand, it would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Motels rarely exceed expectations in my experience. However Sport of Kings is an exception. For a remarkably modest nightly rate we had the use of a rather nice geothermally heated (to 38 centigrade) outdoor pool - we didn't feel we needed to avail ourselves of the indoor hot tub. We also enjoyed use of the barbecue adjacent to the pool. Our motel room was well equipped including a couple of exceedingly comfortable armchairs. We were given helpful advice about Rotorua attractions as well as being sign posted to an excellent fish and chip shop in Tauranga - our next stop.

Clearly the proprietors are aiming to please - and succeeding!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The fish and chips shop is great! I am so pleased you went there and enjoyed it!! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic!!
So good to hear we exceeded your expectations - that is our aim and what we have worked towards and we are so pleased the hard work is paying off!
The pool is so nice as are the spa pools for those who wish to partake in a nice warm soak!! It is also so good to have the BBQ in the pool area which guests are welcome to use to cook meals - so easy and handy in summer! Take care and let us know if you are ever back this way again - it would be great to see you both!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Property: Sport of Kings Motel
Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us and experience true Kiwi award winning customer service! Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, bike 'service station', secure bike storage and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing