We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Under Canopy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dear John, James, Christian, Kelsey and everyone at Treetops Lodge...thank you for an experience of a lifetime..gorgeous, large accommodations all with lovely views and every amenity that you can think of... And if it is not on the amenity list,John and his team will assure that your wish is answered. Trip to Bridal Veil falls was experience of lifetime.. Cannot wait to return. Janet
McLaughlin-Cincinnati, Ohio USA..for the luxury vacation traveler this destination is a MUST!

Room Tip: The Vallet View accommodations are more expensive than the lead in lodge rooms but are well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice lodge with kiwi owner !! very big suite outside the main lodge .Very comfortable with everything you need .
Service a bit quiet .
A inkeeper was missing but the lady on duty was very friendly .
Food was excelent and had a michelin star level .
A lot of activities are posible .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabriciodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had a surprise night at Treetops in June - and loved it! We were greeted by James, who simply went above and beyond the call of duty the entire time we were there. What I loved about Treetops was that you felt special, the service superb but you somehow still felt 'home away from home' and not smothered. Infact we were so impressed we've already booked our return. The food was very good, nothing was too much of a hassle. We were given a packed lunch to take on our stroll to the waterfall, which was lovely. The scenery beautiful! James kindly showed us around the newly built spa, which looks fantastic. I can't wait to try it out next time.
Many thanks to James for making our night at Treetops very special. He is a true asset to the establishment - 11/10 professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

the tree tops was an amazing place. the scenery was fabulous.the food was amazing and the service was also great . everyone was friendly and helpful. waking up in the morning to the fresh air and the lush greenery makes this place a must do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mont0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have never given a top rating before, but these guys truly deserve it, not because there was no room for improvement, but because they made us feel like kings. Nothing was a problem, everything had already been thought of and enjoyment was so easyily obtained.

What didn't they think of? Nothing that we can think of.

Greeting was friendly and informal. I do not even know if we "checked in" - our car miraculously disappeared and turned up outside the villa. Our bags were magically inside the villa when we arrived there after a superb cup of tea relaxing after the drive from Auckland..

It was a quiet night, so dinner for two, by candle light was set in the library. A fun game of billiards after dinner, but we could have curled up in front of the fire in the main lodge to read a book.

House wines were perfect - if you are a wine nut yes, you might want the list, but we found the house pour of very high quality with something for every one of the five dinner courses.

Perhaps the dinners tried a little too hard, but the event was everything we could have wished for.

The next day we availed ourselves of the walking gear (so nothing of ours got wet or dirty) and enjoyed a 10km walk in some of the most beautifuly wilderness and rain forrest you could every imagine, arriving at the spectacular bridal veil falls.


We were late for dinner because James explained how the spa tub worked and with a cute kiwi wink, implied we should try it, so we did, and we practically had to be dragged out.

The beds are a bit too soft and overloaded with blankets and doonas for my liking, but we did have two great days and next time will make it three or four days, so they mustn't be "too" soft.

Room Tip: We suspect that every room is a great room - so just go and stay, we are sure that will get you a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Treetops Lodge is an amazing place to stay when in Rotorua. We stayed at the Family wing of the Lodge. The Estate is 2500 acres with beautiful landscape for hikes, walks, fishing, horse riding etc..etc.. You name it and they've got it.

The food is great, they grow most of their own produce. The staff are very friendly and a special thanks to John (the GM) for taking good care of us. It was the highlight of our NZ trip...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Treetops is absolutely stunning. From the scenery to the service, we were continually wowed. I loved what chef did with ice cream, and James wine pairing was a highlight of our entire NZ trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
13.8 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
146 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
7.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
15 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge & Estate

Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $702 - $1,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge & Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 2,500 acres of 800 year old native forest, this award-winning luxury lodge is a life-long dream realised by owner and passionate naturalist John Sax. This uniquely New Zealand experience is a sanctuary and retreat of breath-taking terrain, offering the ultimate in world-class accommodation and adventure. Located outside Rotorua, the Maori heartland and trout fishing capital of the world, the Lodge’s elegant, ecology-inspired and architectural style was derived from the country’s pioneering past, with timber and stone finished echoing the natural beauty and simplicity of the great outdoors. Treetops offer seven streams, on-site trout fishing, four lakes and over 35 miles of adventure trails. Family adventures include helicopter adventures to live volcanoes, geocaching hunts and for the smaller guests a 5 Star Kids Club. Of particular note is Treetops Estate to Plate philosophy, with most of the dishes created by the dedicated team of chefs featuring ingredients reared or grown on this vast estate and near 100% pesticide free. These include world-class game and trout and also highlight estate-grown fruit and vegetables plus unique native herbs from the forest. Also offered is a superb wine cellar of New Zealand and world wines, with expert advice on making the best possible matches New are the complimentary Treetops Signature Experiences; ‘Estate to Plate’ Safari, Wild Food Cooking School, and the Indigenous Food and Heritage Trail - all offering unequalled personal interaction with the natural heritage and native wilderness. Our dedicated spa offers unique health-giving Maori rituals and traditional treatments, or for golfers, Treetops extends a personal invitation to their sister lodge, The Kinloch Club which boasts the 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Treetops Lodge & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing