We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where luxury and nature meets with each other!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treetops Lodge & Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where luxury and nature meets with each other!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Treetops is a Lodge where nature and luxury meets with each other. The most enjoyable time of our trip and we will be back next year. The staff was very well trained and the food was one of the best we have had during our trip from north to south. The list of activities to do is to long as we could have stayed one more week. Our highlight was the guide walk with the manager and pig. Yes, they do have a pet pig named "Othello"

Be aware you need to stay min. 4 nights!

  • Liked — The staff and walks!
  • Disliked — Clean and very high standarts!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
41
93
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

We stayed at Treetops for just two nights and we wished it was for two weeks!!!! The staff is very helpful and so kind! Bruce, the chef extraordinaire let us eat our dinner in the kitchen while he cooked! The villas are wonderful and very private. Waking up to the sounds of the forest is wonderful. You will not regret staying at Treetops!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank THarpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

If you are looking for a pampered experience in a spectacular setting, this is the place for you. The staff were incredibly accommodating and helpful and the atmosphere was friendly and homey. The grounds were conducive to outdoor activities like fishing, hiking and horseback riding. Although we were there in off-season during rainy conditions it still proved to be the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. I'd love to return during a different season.

  • Liked — Staff, food, setting
  • Disliked — What was there not to ike?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zutaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

Fantastic lodge in wonderful setting outside of Rotorua. Low season, only one other couple at the time. Staff was exceptional, food outstanding. Expensive but you do get first-rate accommodations, food, attention. A great find!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheaten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

This place amazes before you even arrive with a drive along remote scenic rural roads before reaching the security gates. You then enter the large estate and forests which predominate throughout.
The lodge and room facilities are second to none and the attention to detail is incredible.
Being a smallish lodge the staff soon get to know your name and thus you start to relax and feel like you are part of the team as everyone chat's about their day and what you are going to be up to next.
The meals were excellent and we found the staff to be extremely accommodating
Ok so you are paying top dollar but a stay here soon makes you realise why New Zealand has a great reputation for this type of accommodation.
Would absolutely recommend this lodge without hesitation to even my most discerning friends.

  • Liked — Stunning rooms and great personal service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

My wife Holly and I were married at Treetops in December of 2006. The entire staff made us feel as though we were truly part of the family and arranged for us the most perfect day. We cannot imagine a more beautiful place on earth in which to have had our wedding. Haiko, the general manager, and all of his team were perfect hosts and we could not recommend them any more highly. If you want the best possible experience, visit Treetops as soon as you gain the opportunity. We consider ourselves part of their family now and will return.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go there
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

We stayed at several of the best lodges in New Zealand and Treetops was our favorite. It's very private and very special, set on acres and acres of lovely ground. You can take all sorts of hikes and walks; you can also get a tour of the property that includes wildlife like deer and buffalo. We thought the service was first-rate and the staff was wonderful. If you want to find one place to splurge on in New Zealand, Treetops should be it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
13.7 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.4 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge & Estate

Property: Treetops Lodge & Estate
Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge & Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 2,500 acres of 800 year old native forest, this award-winning luxury lodge is a life-long dream realised by owner and passionate naturalist John Sax. This uniquely New Zealand experience is a sanctuary and retreat of breath-taking terrain, offering the ultimate in world-class accommodation and adventure. Located outside Rotorua, the Maori heartland and trout fishing capital of the world, the Lodge’s elegant, ecology-inspired and architectural style was derived from the country’s pioneering past, with timber and stone finished echoing the natural beauty and simplicity of the great outdoors. Treetops offer seven streams, on-site trout fishing, four lakes and over 35 miles of adventure trails. Family adventures include helicopter adventures to live volcanoes, geocaching hunts and for the smaller guests a 5 Star Kids Club. Of particular note is Treetops Estate to Plate philosophy, with most of the dishes created by the dedicated team of chefs featuring ingredients reared or grown on this vast estate and near 100% pesticide free. These include world-class game and trout and also highlight estate-grown fruit and vegetables plus unique native herbs from the forest. Also offered is a superb wine cellar of New Zealand and world wines, with expert advice on making the best possible matches New are the complimentary Treetops Signature Experiences; ‘Estate to Plate’ Safari, Wild Food Cooking School, and the Indigenous Food and Heritage Trail - all offering unequalled personal interaction with the natural heritage and native wilderness. Our dedicated spa offers unique health-giving Maori rituals and traditional treatments, or for golfers, Treetops extends a personal invitation to their sister lodge, The Kinloch Club which boasts the 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Treetops Lodge & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing