We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best little ice cream house in Rotorua” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour

Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Rotorua
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lady Janes is Rotorua's iconic Ice Cream Parlour. Situated down by the lake front it is a relaxing activity for all ages. We have been serving the sweet tooth locals and tourists for over 30 years. With over 50 flavours to choose from there is sure to be something to please everyone! A must try is our Danish cone, a large waffle cone with 2 choices of creamy ice cream, your choice of topping, fresh whipped cream and chopped peanuts or sprinkles. It's amazing!! Open all year round from 10am till late, come and visit us we would love to see you.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best little ice cream house in Rotorua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Choice of ice cream is amazing, go for the allsorts one. Reasonably priced and well located for the lake. Will go next time in Rotorua

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank westagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    28
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour Driver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Always makes me and my guests happy. From memory 37(could be more) different flavours of ice cream. Most staff happy and helpful but it can be very busy at times. Quite expensive but worth it to see the smiles.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dessert Delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just the place to finish a terrific evenings family outing, after enjoying a great dinner at a nearby restaurant, dropping into Janes Parlor was just the ticket.
Double Chocolate, with raspberry and CHILLI, yes,I said chilli, Ice cream in a sugar cone, topped off a great evening.
Easily one of Rotorua's finest establishments, always clean and staff fantastically helpful.
Goes without saying, back we will go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice cream”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Not willing to read ingredients to determine if any of their ice cream was gluten free and were willing to just not serve me.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumborgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjanesicecream, Owner at Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Your feedback in invaluable to us, we have since labelled all ice creams weather they are gluten free or not, have lactose free options and have full ingredients lists from suppliers for any other food allergies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unusual flavours or the everyday. Ice cream for all tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Lots of customers on this very cool October Sunday. We were intrigued by the lemongrass and ginger flavour, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Lots of choices and everyone from kids to oldies and locals and visitors. Perfect end to a day of sightseeing, lunch on Eat Streat..... Enjoying the ice cream while listening to pleasant music. Delightful place that we highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing