We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, tranquil and good old fashioned fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Rotorua

Lake Rotorua
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.93*
and up
Lake Rotorua Paddle Boat Cruise with Breakfast or Lunch
Ranked #16 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest of a dozen lakes formed by volcanic activity, this clear, calm lake offers cruises, kayaking and sailing, as well as great trout fishing.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, tranquil and good old fashioned fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I took to the lake with a kayak which were available from our hotel/motel and it was great! It was a nice day and the lake is huge! It is clean on the shoreline so nice to have a picnic and watch the world go by away from the tourist centre.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rachelaroha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    359
    98
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kinda meh, it's a lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The kids appreciated the playground near the War Memorial and we saw aquaplanes landing on the lake. You can feed various birds, but at the end of the day, it was just a lake you know.

The story of Hinemoa and Tutu... rats, can't remember his name. Well anyway, that was brilliant and the kids loved me telling them about it and pointing out the island she swam to.

If we had found somewhere to go paddling or swimming, I'd rate it higher - My fault that. Not the lake's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamFrezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Volcanic Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautiful blue volcanic lake. We went on a jet boat ride, This was a most enjoyable and exhilarating experience, thoroughly recommendable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The lake itself is beautiful. But dont miss the Sulfur Point. To get here, go through the Government Gardens (near the museum) and go right past the museum towards the lake. The sulfur point is the part of the lake which is white, due to the minerals and volcanic activity. Amazing sight, and there are so many birds there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Mini vegas with motels not hotels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We did a quickish stop here, drove down through the mini Vegas strip, quite interesting, and on to the lake, wish we had done the goverment buildings and museum, but hey, maybe next time. I wanted to see a church I had read about and having spoken to some local people, we got directions to go there, along the lake/harbour into a small settlement next door called Ohinemutu. It was a very quaint Maori settlement with a lovely centre/hall, the beautiful church I had come to see, nice burial grounds and very happy children playing. So glad we found it. Car (or van) parking was easy along by the lake and this village was only 10/15 mins walk away. Loads of birds on the water, we watched 2 swans mating, it was beautiful, they made real heartshapes with their necks intertwining. My main memory of Ohinemutu is the happy, smiling children we spoke to and took photos of. Maybe next time we will explore Rotoraura more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing