We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful in the day and night”
Review of Lake Rotorua

Lake Rotorua
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.78*
and up
Lake Rotorua Paddle Boat Cruise with Breakfast or Lunch
Ranked #16 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest of a dozen lakes formed by volcanic activity, this clear, calm lake offers cruises, kayaking and sailing, as well as great trout fishing.
Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“beautiful in the day and night”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

it is just a simple place with beautiful water. i went there in the morning and at night and it was extremely peaceful and beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank armani123sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    369
    99
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Morning or Evening walk”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice to walk around either at the end of your day or before breakfast. Take some bread and feed the ducks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcbWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice views but don't expect fantastic beaches. Lots of boat and heli excursions from the simple tour of the lake to exploring the wildlife sanctuary island in the middle of the lake. I never treid any so I won't comment. But I did enjoy the walk around the lake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The sulphur can smell a bit but it's not bad and watching the shore line with puffs of steam is amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Beautiful in pleasant weather.....”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This lake appears to have a circular shaped basin of water and we really underestimated its size. As we walked around we could see and hear the hissing and bubbling of geothermal activity.When the wind is right you can't fail to smell a distinctive sulphur odour - it also appears to give the Lake a yellow/green hue.

This is a favourite place for locals and visitors and on the weekend we were there it had a festive atmosphere due to a cycle competition and a market in the local park. We were lucky to have fine weather, which made it very amusing to see people having fun inside those inflated clear plastic balls on the water (a Zorb?).

The paddle wheeler did not appear to be running that day but would be lovely out on the water, a bevy of swans were honking for some treats including older cygnets, seagulls came swooping in close for those ‘hot chips’ (a long way from the sea!) and just a little further along the shore is the beautiful St Faith’s Church. There are a couple of cafes nearby which had some seriously good food or you could bring your own picnic to have on the grassed areas.

It’s the second largest lake in the North Island so we saw only a fraction of its size, however it is a delightful 'must see' while in Rotorua especially if the weather is pleasant.

Enjoy your visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing