We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average..."resort" is misleading” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average..."resort" is misleading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were not that impressed. There is nothing wrong with this "motel", but the name and Tripadvisor reviews had us expecting more. The motel is located next to about 50 other "dime a dozen" places along a street in Rotorua that reminded me of the Las Vegas strip of (albeit smaller) hotels. This motel should revert to their old name, Motor Lodge, as that is a more apt description of the place. There was nothing wrong with the motel, as it was clean, but the property is dated and not up to a "5 star" rating.

The mini golf was dated and cracking, the golf balls were crusty and old, and you paid for internet access (not typical of a "5 star"). The bathroom was large and had a spa tub, which was nice, and the room had a safe.

The price seemed a little high for the area, but we have no extreme complaints. We'd probably try a different property in Rotorua if returning, as we saw several nicer looking places when touring the town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    125
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
166
156
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while in Rotorua on business as it was recommended by colleagues.

Unfortunately I didn't have a car whilst in Rotorua & this made the Palms unsuitable for my stay. It is about a 25-minute walk to town. There is no restaurant at the Palms, and there's very few places to eat within the immedicate vicinity, other than the restaurants at the neighbouring hotels. The complex is pleasant enough but the general locale is quite bland - motel mile.

I was disappointed with the service, e.g., when I was struggling to hold open the reception door so I could get myself & my luggage through, the person behind the counter in the (otherwise empty) reception just sat munching his toast even though I had to make two trips to get through - at a backpackers that would've been fine, but for a '5 star venue'? Not impressed.

That said, the room where I stayed - an executive studio - was nicely done, very spacious & comfortable and the spa pool was quite impressive.

Overall though I was quite underwhelmed by the Palms and wouldn't return there. The location lets it down, in my opinion.

Melissa

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellingtonMelissa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed here 4 nights with our three children (ages 14, 12 and 9). Booked a 2 bedroom superior unit which was very roomy. Appears to be one of their better units - bedding is clean and not dated, kitchen area had newer stainless steel appliances and all sorts of cookery. Showers and bathrooms were nice. Large spa pool in second bathroom
Check in was easy - very friendly staff. Provided with cookies and milk for our coffee. Rooms were serviced daily
Hotel itself has a swimming pool (heated in winter, they will remove cover for you to swim!), tennis courts, mini golf and a small gym

Only negatives
1. Spa pools are VERY noisy when used in the room next to you. They are on timers so can't be used past 11:00. There were two nights when the guests next to us were using theirs and we could here the water filling up and the jets running
2. Not in a scenic area - on the main road however far enough from the main strip that the noise isn't bad. Only a 5-10 minute drive to the central district and lake. We actually preferred being a bit farther away and having a larger accomodation

Overall, a great stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed 2 nights but would have happily stayed longer. Very good standard of accommodation. Clean and comfy and I have to say my husband would say I am very fussy! Lots of activities on site if you have the time. We visited Rotorua in the 90's and I didn't especially want to return but really glad we did. It is a lovely place now, think alot of money has been spent on the town and promoting tourism which has paid off.
You have to drive into town from Regal Palms but that applies to most places.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We booked this hotel for two nights whilst travelling around the North Island of NZ based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The complex was easy to find and approximately 5 mins drive from the centre of Rotorua. The gentlemen on reception was friendly and inviting and handed us a little basket of cookies and milk upon arrival. Our accommodation was nice - equipped with a mini dishwasher, fridge, small cooking stove, small dining area with plenty of crockery, pots and pans as well as a living area, which included a TV, DVD/CD player. The bathroom had a shower and jacuzzi, which we used on the second night (to soothe our aching legs!). Parking spaces are allocated for each room outside which was perfect. My only criticism albeit small, is that our bedroom wasn't that big, but it was not the end of the world and wouldn't put me off booking again.

The complex also has a swimming pool but unfortunately we do not use this facility.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to any fellow travellers and can honestly say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Rotorua.... well, apart from the smell of sulphar getting up our noses every now and again!! :o)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshire_Cat_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

One night stay in rotorua. Very nice suite with full kitchen. My son enjoyed the heated pool and the minigolf. Staff was friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedevilkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and living room and it was great! Very comfortable, clean, and well kept. Great large and spacious bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower, heated towel racks, and heated tile floor. We were on the second floor in the back, for I had asked for a quiet location and our accomodations were perfect. One bedroom had a nice view of the botanical gardens across the quiet back street. Each bedroom and the living room had a television. The kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, cooking utensils, and some cookies. The facilities met most needs with a pool, pitch and putt golf, and many more amenities that we didn't even explore, for we were so busy with all our sight-seeing activities.

The manager was extremely helpful in finding us last minute arrangements for Christmas dinner at Aorangi Peak Restaurant. It was atop a mountain with a magnificent view of all of Rotorua. Gourmet dinner graciously done with party favors and very festive. They even provided transportation to and from.

Regal Palms is on the main drag, but at the far end, so it is not bothered by traffic and noise. Yet it is close to everything. We spent time travelling around the area for many days, using Regal Palms as our home base. Looking at the other lodgings available, I am convinced that I made the best choice in hotel/motel accomodations. Regal Palms is terrific!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Property: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing