We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Regal Palms for 2 nights and had a great time.
The rooms were warm and quiet, there was a spa bath in the room, and the hotel has so much to offer! You can play mini golf, use the gym, sauna or heated pool, play tennis, or use the new mountain bikes they have to go and explore the city!
It costs a little extra to stay here, but it's definately worth it for all the extra things you get from staying at this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the road, but still didnt hear any traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonMichaelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had an amazing four days with my partner. Regal Palms was excellent in every way, a true luxury home away from home, helpful stuff, great facilities, and reasonably priced. Definitely will be back.
We stayed in the one bedroom spa suite, and there was tonnes of room, a well-equipped kitchen, fantastic bathroom, and good bed.
Staff were very helpful and informative, and quick to answer any query with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by what could be a standard motel offering. But noted the excellent appointments, large rooms & huge bathroom with spa and toiletries. Plus nicely appointed kitchen & furniture. Grounds are immaculate with little road noise. Heated swimming pool complex with sauna, gym, tennis court

Room Tip: Perhaps at the back away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here as a family, and were most impressed by the facilities on offer.

There's a tennis court, mini golf, and swimming pool to keep the children happy and active.

We stayed in a first floor unit, and enjoyed having a view of the complex from our room.

The main bedroom had it's own television, as well as a television in the lounge area.

A large self-filling spa is situated in the bathroom (which has lovely warm under floor heating!), and can fit four people in without too much of a squash!

The kitchen is fully equipped with crockery, cutlery, and cooking pots and utensils, along with a microwave and oven top.

A nice personal touch when you check-in is that you get a little basket containing milk and cookies with your room key. I was also given a made up bundle of brochures on various Rotorua activities on offer which makes it so much easier to choose what to do (better than standing looking at brochures on a display as you get to see activities you may not have known about or thought about doing).

I would definitely recommend this property as the perfect family Resort for spending happy quality time together!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the well appointed spacious rooms made for a very comfortable stay. The rooms were warm and the service excellent.the spa baths were excellent. The location is excellent and the palms has excellent additional facilities. I will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Regal Palms was a pleasant surprise. It had a very nice large room and nice large bathroom. Very good kitchen facility in the room and the cleanliness was excellent. It has lots of extras like free wi-fi, good TV with Sky, gym, pool and a small mini golf course which was fun to fill in a few minutes. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. While it is not close to the centre of town it is in walking distance if you like a good walk. We did a great loop around the town which included seeing the lake with some thermal activity.

We were in a downstairs unit with another unit on top. Some of the units are single story and I would recommend asking for one of those. On the second morning there were the odd noises from upstairs which was noticeable but not annoying. It could impact on you if it was a larger group upstairs or if you wanted a sleep in.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit without a unit above so make sure of a perfectly quite experience.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopGuNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We did not expect the Regal Palms to be as nice as it was. Although it was not at all luxurious, it was great for a three night stay in Rotorua. It had a playground, mini golf course and pool for kids and big spacious rooms. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $134 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing