We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tiny issues but overall pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We travelled to Rotorua on an whim so we didn’t have a booking or knew anything about the hotels in the area. We saw Regal Palms and we thought it looked nice so we decided to stay for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed the place. Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, it obviously used to be a motor lodge, but so what? It was very nicely polished and the rooms were of a very good standard. Far better, nicer, cleaner, etc than any motor lodge I’ve stayed at.

Some minor issues, the pool could do with a bit of a revamp – some tiles chipped/missing, and on close inspection, pool looks a bit tired. Same with the mini-golf court (would be nice if they would remove all the broken putts). Also, the woman at reception that checked us in was a bit.. bland for a lack of a better word. Not really smiling or happy that we decided to stay with them and $400 in their pocket. But the gentleman that handled our checkout was great! Very friendly and helpful.

So despite some tiny hiccups, overall still a good place. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanaGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross M, Manager at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. In response to the issues you mention we had the pool contractor here early summer to address the problems you have noted - we are actually going to resurface the whole pool and add new tiles where needed but because the pool will be out of action for at least two weeks we decided to book the job for mid March, hoping to inconvenience fewer guests at that time of year
As for the mini golf we have laid new outdoor carpet just 12 months ago so I presume you mean the actual putters themselves which do get a hammering during the holiday season and are replaced regularly
I have been in this industry over 15 years now and I must say the owners here at Regal Palms are more committed to maintaining/upgrading their property than anyone else we have worked for
Thanks again
Regards
Ross - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 487 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

Overall fantastic alpenhorn a little pricey for the 2 bedroom apartment

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the well presented rooms and facilities, reception closes at 9pm, which can be a little annoying, but overall it was a good experience, the beds are very good too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very well presented and clean rooms.
Air-conditioning and beautiful large bathroom and spa.
No free internet is one main downside and no self contained laundry.
Excellent amenities for families and office staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.
30 minute walk to main center is very pleasant on the boulevard.
Recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Thank you to the honest and diligent staff: Ross, Annie, Carol & Housekeeping! Your diligence at searching for (and finding!) our lost camera “smart card” is so appreciated. It contained almost 2 weeks worth of vacation pics in New Zealand. I called Ross after we had arrived home to the U.S. and they were concerned enough to search for, find, and mail home to us the small “smart card”.
This clean, modern hotel was perfect for our family. Pool is very nice, great outdoor barbecue under covered picnic area with tables, etc. It is not within walking distance of downtown Rotorua, but we had a rental car, so it was perfectly situated for us! Highly, highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 or 5, the 2-bedroom apartment has a kitchen, a roomy living room and a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mockingbird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It helps that the previous night we stayed at Rydges Rotorua (which was awful) so everything seemed awesome in comparison. Will be coming back next year. I haven't got much to say except that everything was as how you would expect it to be in a 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My family of 4 just left yesterday after a 5 night stay @ $275 a night. We booked based on TA reviews. I was very pleased with this accommodation. The staff left you to it, and at this time, that is exactly what we wanted. We stayed in 1bdrm suite central to 99% of everything we needed. Kids loved the heated pool, it rained on our last two days but the pool was what kept my kids happy. Mini golf was fun, I got a hole in one. The gym was useful for my partner, the bbq spot was great. Everything was at reach from bbq utensils, balls in the pool, free use of pool towels which lived in your room. My son enjoyed riding his scooter under the shelter of the resorts cover, . The rooms were clean for the most part, air con was great. Good utensils, bit flimsy as we broke a glass while washing it, bbut we didn't get charged for it which was good. Because we stayed so long we were given free wi-fi usage which made us all happ. Lots of towels, 6 for shower, 3 for pool. Decent bedding and beds. Contemporary designs with nice art on walls. Kitchen, dining table and lounge great for our family size. Bathroom was spacious and lovely. Lots of lighting. Spa was a nice treat. Hair dryer useful. Nice natural lighting and able to open large windows in bathroom. Lots of space to put all your tpiletries. Nice large shower and toweles were nice and soft and fresh. Bedroom was good, nice touch with the T.V and happy to have sky in room too. Decent space to store some of your clothes and luggage. Rooms serviced daily and they did everything including dishes which I LOVED! My kids 11 and 3.5, loved their stay and were sad to leave, and so were my partnr and I. I loved that it was peaceful, away from the street and that we got to park right outside our room which helped in the rain. Oh and there were lots of power sockets which was helpful to charge camera, mobiles, lap top etc all at once. Loved the tall lamp with flexi neck in lounge too. Lots of room to sit all four of us. In my opinion this resort is a small slice of heaven in Rotorua and we will be back. In fact we almost returned after landing in our next lower standard accommodation in Taupo, but we ended up staying in Taupo and checking into the Hilton. Regal Palms certainly set the standard for us. My few gripes, which aren't a biggy. I would have liked a 'do not disturb' sign for the door coz we were late rising (on holiday after all) and we felt a wee bit pestered getting a daily knock to service room, sometimes 2 or 3 times within a 30 min bracket. Our shampoo and body wash didn't get replenished one day, the sky channels were not the best ones, and I think there were 3 sports channels which I thought was not good, but at least there were 2 t.vs. One day the room was not vacuumed but every other day was fine. Also we didn't find the younger lady at reception very friendly, but it didn't bother us as we didn't have to deal with her much. Overall a great stay for us!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFDJ UP FAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort

Address: 350 Fenton Street | Corner Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Regal Palms Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $135 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REGAL PALMS AND THE ART of HOSPITALITY Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua - New Zealand's geothermal wonderland. Here you'll find a great range of high quality accommodation options, exceptional facilities and unsurpassed hospitality. Luxury Rotorua Accommodation: Our modern and well-equipped range of superior suites and apartments make an ideal Rotorua accommodation option for couples, families, corporates and groups. Every suite and apartment has a great range of features, including a luxurious spa pool - perfect to sink into at the end of the day. Superb on-site Facilities: Be sure to make the most of the exceptional on-site facilities at Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort. Whether you want to relax with a drink in the cosy Guest Lounge, or you're up for something more active on the tennis court, in our heated swimming pool or on one of our free bicycles exploring the city - there's something for everyone here! Conference Facilities: Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort is the perfect location for your upcoming business meeting or conference. We have a range of conference packages to suit all small meetings (up to 20 persons) Packages & Promotions: Check out our Rotorua accommodation packages and promotions to make sure you're getting the best deal when you stay with us! True Kiwi Hospitality At Regal Palms, we understand that hospitality is an art that embraces service, attitude and respect for the individual needs of every guest - you can expect the same high level of customer service every time you stay with us. Warm Regards, Ross, Annie and the team at Regal Palms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms 5 Star City Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing