We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real adventure”

New Zealand Riverjet
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.89*
and up
Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Wirral
Level Contributor
189 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A real adventure”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ok the team at river jets may do this twice a day but when we did it we felt we were the first people to discover this oasis. The squeeze is a truly great adventure and trilling discovery. We were originally booked on the thermal park but there was no problem changing on the day. there are some wonderful sites and sound in New Zealand but this was a standout activity and worth every dollar, definitely worth 3 hours of everyones holiday time. Brilliant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Wow thank you for your review. Yes we love our trips and we love sharing it with other people. Thanks for sharing our oasis with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    36
    1
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DO IT!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Squeeze will be the highlight of your trip. Go down the Waikato River with your driver Adam, who'll tell you all about the area and it's history. He's also got a pretty mean tui call!

A short walk through the canyon and up a pleasant stream brings you to a really special place. Bathe under a natural hot waterfall, which will also give you a great massage!

Expect to get wet on the way back. Well worth the time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank katjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for your feed back Kat, yes Adam has his Tui call down to a fine art! We're glad you enjoyed your trip with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb adventure”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was an awesome adventure. We cruised down the river in the jet boat. Taking in the scenery and sights of the natural thermal activity on the banks of the Waitake River. The riverjet boasts of 360 spins, fishtails and a wrath of power. We got dropped a the Orakei thermal kiosk and made our way over to the thermals grounds which is one of the most renowned places for active thermals. Well worth the trip would do it again at the drop of a hat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you had such a great time on our tour! We think it's pretty superb too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
“Great Jet Boat Ride”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We got off to a bit of a slow start but the girls in the reception area were very pleasant and helpful. We had Adam as our boat driver and as most people have point out he was excellent. He was very enthused about his job and enjoyed passing on his knowledge of the area to all the passengers. His hints on making the best use of our time at the thermal area were quite helpful. Driving back to the launching pad was a great experience. Adam's skill as a jet boat driver were exceptional and the 'Hamilton' spins were great! All in all a great time for all aboard.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Yes Adam has some great tips for getting the most out of your time at Orakei Korako.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent trip - a must do!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this trip to celebrate my husbands birthday and boy did we make a good choice!

Our guide and driver of the boat (Adam) was very friendly, funny and knowledgeable made the trip worth doing.

You go for a leisurely ride down the river in the jetboat, then get the chance to head over to the geothermal park. On the way back, you get a thrill of a ride in the jetboat, with boat spins and be prepared to get soaked!!

A must do if you are in the area!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaffronHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squeeze1, Manager at New Zealand Riverjet, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I hope Adam gave you an extra Birthday spin! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Zealand Riverjet also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to New Zealand Riverjet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing