We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
wellington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

we stayed for one night at the duxton in december. it was a lovely place to stay on our way further north. we had a nice room, quite small but with a lovely bathroom. it overlooked the lake so that was nice. The downside of this hotel for some would be that is quite remote and no cafes or restaurants near by. you would certainly need a car. There was a very nice restaurant in the hotel but very expensive so we decided to drive into rotorua for dinner (15 mins) we decided to have breakfast but that was quite average and cost $27. the hotel was only 5 minutes from devils gate, which we went to in the morning and had a great mud bath and spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Having stayed in numerous quality hotels over the years I can honestly say that I enjoyed my 3 day stay at the Duxton Okawa Bay best of all. We had a great room looking onto Lake Rotoiti which was lovely to wake up to in the morning.
The restaurant served high quality food both at breakfast and dinner and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere as well as an awsome location.
Whilst I was there bad weather caused a power cut and all the lights went out. The staff however made us very comfortable and cosy in front of a roaring log fire in the lounge sitting area with drinks from the bar. An enduring memory.
The hotel also offers a free do it yourself laundry facility and if you are travelling for several weeks as we were this is a real bonus.
I loved this place and If it were not on the other side of the world I would go back sooner than I am likely to, but I will return to New Zealand and I will return to the Duxton Okawa Bay - I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAISLEYSAINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here for only one night on a spur of the moment trip to Rotorua from Auckland. I was so pleased with this hotel. The room was beautiful, bathroom was awesome (with a great shower and a huge bathtub). The linens were really nice, pillows not the best. We had a beautiful view of the lake, and there was absolutely no sulpher smell even though it's very close to Hells Gate Mud Baths.
The food in the restaurant was quite nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotterdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This hotel has one of the most enviable locations in the North Island. My room was overlooking Lake Rotoiti which was a sheer joy to wake up to in the morning.

Comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and a great breakfast made this hotel very memorable.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Duxton Hotel is certainly surrounded by stunning scenery but unless you are prepared to pay for all 44 rooms at $249 per room, I suggest you don't book this place for a wedding. Whatever happened to what the customer wants? I was told by the lady who showed us around that if we wanted to have our wedding at the Duxton, that we would have to book the entire hotel - all 44 rooms! I was told the reason why we had to book the entire hotel was because they only have the one main conference room that also doubles up as the breakfast/lunch/dining room for guests and there was no where else to move other paying guests! Oh well, found somewhere much more stunning and, what's even better, I don't have to book 44 rooms to have a wedding there!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 103traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Looks may be deceiving from the moment you drive through the main entrance. Set in a weatherboarded lodge type building and on the serene lake edge our stay was enjoyable. We booked into the superior lake view room which was very spacious with a seperate lounge and balcony with a view to die for. The bathrooms were clean and spacious as well with a seperate bath tub and shower. The quality of the meals (dinner and breakfast) were expected with a 4 star plus hotel and the service from their friendly staff always ensured that you were looked after. There was a conference on at the same time we stayed but we hardly noticed them around. Great facilities and would definitely return for some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This hotel had very mixed reviews on Tripadvisor so I was rather concerned.
The hotel is a few miles out of Rotorua in a beautiful setting overlooking the lakes and away from the smells! We had a garden room which had a beautiful view and was away from the noise of the road. The room was extremely comfortable; we were able to borrow cutlery ,plates etc to eat a meal in our room.The restaurant served lovely food and the service was excellent.
The hotel is now owned by a Thai businessman and this is reflected in the decor.
My only criticism ,which applies to all New Zealand hotels, is that employees lack training in hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
6.0 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
182 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Property: Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing