We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location”
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Just returned from one night stay at this hotel. Although this is about 15 minutes out of Rotorua, it is in a gorgeous location beside Lake Rotoiti. Rooms are smallish, but luxuriously furnished - even get a lake view from the bathtub! Lots of extra amenities and the most comfortable beds ever - fantastic. Only minuses - the hotel pool is not in a very good location (right by reception and the bar) and is only barely lukewarm. Was not tempted to use it. Staff professional but not overly friendly.

  • Liked — Location - outside the tourist traps
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kiweka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2006

Stayed in this hotel for three nights during our NZ tour. It was terrific, lovely room which was well kept, delicious meals including a cracking breakfast plus taff who were attentive and friendly at all times. Our trip included some excellent hotels which were credit to NZ but the Duxton was special for us because of the location, quaility and level of service. Well done Duxton.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Great place to say. Very relaxing. Rooms were very tidy. Hotel is 15 k's out of Rotorua town but dont let that put you off. Great restaurent. The food is beautiful. Great desserts, and service with a smile.

Stayed one night in a King room with lake view and then upgraded to a Suite for the next night. The King room is a bit small but no complaints really. heated floors. Great french doors between the bath and the room, so you can soak in the tub and open the screen doors and have a nice view of the lake from inside the bathroom - its brilliant.

The suites are on the ground floor. Very spacious. Nice lounge with dining table and 4 chairs, coffee and tea making facilities. Bit bathroom with spa bath and heated floors, seperate bedroom with king size bed and walk in closet to store your luggage. The suites have doors out to their own little patio area with a couple of chairs and table where you can sit and enjoy the views and have a drink and relax.

Definitely recommend this place. Nice and clean and private. Nice people and great food.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeeviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

This is a great hotel! Very quiet even when full. Definitely get the package with breakfast at the hotel, its wonderful. So is dinner, plan to eat at the hotel at least one night of your stay.

The view of the lake is brilliant and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Only drawback, must be known, is that the hotel is a good 15 minutes drive from the town center. Its worth the drive!!

Helpful?
5 Thank traveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

I agree with everything stated by the previous reviewer.

The hotel is very quiet, but nice. You would definitely need a car to stay here. We only spent one night at the hotel, so didn't experience much of what the hotel had to offer. It seemed that most of the activities are in Rotorua not out by the hotel.

The room was well maintained and clean. There was a separate spa tub and shower in the large bathroom. The bathroom was almost the same size as the bed area.

The hotel is 15 minutes from town so we ate in the hotel restaurant. Luckily and surprisingly, it is great! We went down to dinner and they settled us with drink by the fireplace, took our orders, and then allowed us to sit by the fire until our meals were served. The food was excellent and the dinner was very reasonably priced.

I would stay here again if in the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CoMom800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2004

The Duxton Okawa Bay, located 15 minutes from downtown Rotorua, has recently been remodeled. Tauck tours were staying here, so you know it is excellent! The lobby is rather small, and the hotel has no elevator and is 2 floors. The rooms fan out along the water and have a large bathroom with separate shower and large bathtub. Shutters from the bath open to the room. Lighting is the bathroom is exceptional. The french doors open to the view of the water. Rooms are lovely. As the hotel is out of town, it is great if you have a car. However, if relying on shuttle or taxi service it is out too far. There are no shops, restaurants, etc around the hotel.

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.1 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
15.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Property: Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing