We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyablle stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Putney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An enjoyablle stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in a garden view room and had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated.

The staff while not the happiest of people were still helpful and took interest in our activities.

We did not use the dinning room for dinner or breakfast so cannot really offer an opinion, but I thought it was rather expensive especially for breakfast.

Overall we had agood stay at this very pretty location.

The hotel was good despite being located outside of Rotorua (away from the smell).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LemoPutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We booked three nights in a double room, Bed & Breakfast for NZ$190.00 per night through Wotif.com. The driveway into the hotel was unimpressive but any concerns were quickly forgotten when we went inside the hotel. Our room was a superior, upstairs Lake View Room with doors opening onto a small viewing platform. The room was a modest size but very adequate and comfortable with beautiful views of well-groomed gardens and Lake Rotoiti. All in all, very satisfactory accommodation.

The Duxton is a fifteen minute drive from Rotorua and unless you wish to eat in the hotel, restaurants are some distance away, especially if you would like a glass or two of wine with your meal ! Reception staff ranged from indifferent and unhelpful to pleasant and helpful.

We had an excellent meal and great restaurant service on the first night of our stay. Afterwards we were able to sit in very comfortable lounge chairs in front of a large open wood burning fire in the dining room. We also ate in the hotel on the last night of our stay and a small conference group were in residence. It was noticeable that the standard of food and service dropped, as it was clear that the staff were unable to adequately deal with the relatively small numbers of additional guests. Cooked breakfasts were of a good standard although service was sometimes slow.

Overall, a good quality hotel, in a beautiful location and despite a few small shortcomings we would be very happy to return.

  • Liked — The beautiful views
  • Disliked — Indifference of some staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed in Duxton Hotel for one night and have no intention to visit it again or to recommend it to anyone. The location is magnificent, the setting is beautiful! But the hotel itself must be called the “seriously overpriced motel”. Rooms are small, no air conditioner, a lot of sand flies, the walls are quite thin and guests with noisy children could be heard easily. Our room was clean, but the common areas and windows were dirty or have to be painted. The restaurant is boring. Breakfast was a poor - asking for money even it was included. The biggest let down for this hotel were the uninterested and unhelpful reception staff. Will never stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

It was certainly worth the extra drive away from Rotorua to experience the peace and tranquility of the Duxton, particularly as we got an amazing, last minute rate from WotIf.

The hotel didn't look anything special when we approached but once inside, it was very classy. The rooms have been beautifully refurbished and it oozes character.

We took our cocktails from the bar and sat on a small deck by the lake side (complete with a table, chairs and umbrella), watching birds and the occasional boat drift by in the setting sun. Another couple were playing chess using the giant chess set on the lawn.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good.

We would certainly stay there again but next time, instead of opting for a lake view room upstairs (we had a tree partially blocking the view and the French balcony meant that you couldn't sit on it and admire the scenery) we would investigate a lake view room on the ground floor, as they seemed to have dedicated chairs directly outside on the grass.

Also, we noted that a number of rooms around an indoor courtyard/garden were offered on web sites at an extremely low rate. We looked at the location of these rooms for future reference, and whilst they have no lake view at all and are closer to the car park, you would still have all the hotel amenities at your disposal at a very reasonable cost.

We would certainly stay there again. It was a real find!

  • Liked — location, character, peacefulness
  • Disliked — Not a full lake view from my window.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at the Duxton hotel in July 2007 for two nights. The Duxton is about 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua and the escape from the sulfur smell surrounding Rotorua made this an excellent choice. We booked a lakeview room, which offered gorgeous sunrise views and plenty of birdsong. The breakfasts, which came "free" with our Expedia booking were exceptional, with a choice of a hot meal and/or the continental breakfast. My husband enjoyed sampling the Highlander kipper option, while I enjoyed eggs benedict. There is a big fireplace with picture books in the breakfast rooms which makes the environment a peaceful place to start the day. The rooms were of a moderate size but were immaculate. Shuttered doors between the bath and bedroom allow one to take in the bay view from the bath -- great idea. They offer an herbal, handmade soap that is a wonderful touch and a french press (bring your own ground coffee though instant is available). We were there in the wintertime and so could not enjoy the many outdoor amenities offered to hotel guests. If there's one complaint, it is the front desk staff was quite young and their suggestions were sometimes perplexing (Suggestions for a rainy day? Go-karting?!). I would recommend the hotel very highly to anyone venturing to Rotorua, and I'd recommend Rotorua as well. We enjoyed the Pheasant Plucker for a pint. The bartender brews the ales and the Welsh ale was exceptional. They also have a carving station which my husband greatly enjoyed. Other activities we enjoyed included the 4:00 pm guided tour of the museum (history of the baths was interesting and the building is an architectural gem), Waimanga for the "Origins of the Earth", and Hell's Gate for a outdoor mudbath in the rain.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Front desk staff friendly but young and sometimes lacking for advice
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderlustChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Ten minutes from Rotorua Airport, and 20 minutes from downtown Rotorua is the most gorgeous lake in the area and the Duxton has the primo spot on the lakes edge! It's a small hotel, and the second (top) storey has particularly great views. The rooms are small, but nicely furnished and perhaps even over-full, but the bathroom opening up to the room and then on the view of this magic lake setting are worth putting up with tripping over the furniture. Restaurant food is excellent, but service is slow. When the bar was not staffed, a common occurrence, a quick word to the receptionist seemed to work! The grounds are beautiful, and the location is just magic. Overall, we think it's well worth the price, even though it's more expensive than the mostly run-down other hotels in Rotorua, that seem to only be interested in bulk tour-bus business.

  • Liked — Fantastic setting, beautiful little hotel
  • Disliked — Slow service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

This hotel is in a beautiful location out of town, past the airport. For those (like us) who were travelling to Rotorua to see the sights but not keen on staying in the bustling (somewhat smelly) town, this is ideal.
The hotel has an air of superiority without pretentiousness. Yes the entrance isn't showy, but it has beautiful stained glass entrance doors depicting a Maori story.
We ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and if I had one complaint it would be that the food is a bit overpriced (25$NZ for cooked breakfast), perhaps that is why the dining area was so quiet, as the food was excellent.
Our room was fantastic, on the ground floor, with french windows opening up onto the beautiful lakeside gardens. We were staying in a triple room and there was certainly room to spare for our 2 queen beds and put-you-up bed. As for the bathroom (well, pretty spectacular), with folding shutters opening up into the room, over the deep wide bath, under floor toasty heating, spacious shower, etc.
Every night we stayed we had easter chocolates brought to our room, which was a bonus to my children who were already won over by the giant chess set, trampoline, swimming pool and tennis court in the grounds.

  • Liked — Good hotel in splendid location
  • Disliked — Expensive meals
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rutilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
7.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Property: Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing