We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This pakce was the noisiest I have ever stayed in - whereas I expected peace and tranquility. The hall corridors echoed whenever anyone shut there door or talked in the hall. We had one group come in after 11am and have a loud shouting match with doors banging shut.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had prebooked a package deal - the guy on reception was very rude - it felt like a police interrogation rather than a welcome. We thought it would be nice to have a walk on the lawns in front on the hotel, near the lake. Unfortunately you couldn't walk for animal turds of some kind. The rooms were fairly ordinary, and very noisy. There were a lot of children in the hotel and the corridors echoed a lot of the noise. However, most was forgiven (except for the rude Indian guy on reception) with the service and the standard of food in the restaurant. It was superb, and special. We went back for breakfast the next morning, and once again were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and quality of food.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merrilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We got married here in 2005 and the facilities were fresh and new. It was beautiful We went back for a short stay and the location is still as beautiful but the hotel rooms are looking a little tired. Service was good, as was the food. Room was a bit disappointing for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducksbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful location. The rooms are a little oild and tired, but that wasn't the surprise. We knew it was really 3 star. But some of the reception staff were just rude. Young people with little interest or training. The large lawn area fronting the lake, otherwise a great feature, was covered in animal faeces. I'm not kidding. Birds of some sort? It was hard to walk through it. And the smell went into the hotel. The disinterested teenager at reception grudgingly gave us 2 tennis balls for our much anticipated game. They were flat as pancakes. Totally unplayable. She couldn't care less. Does the proprty have a manager?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SubmarineBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night in early November as part of a Tauck tour.

Checkin was quick and efficient.
The room was medium sized - decent work area. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was good with lots of counter space.
TV was OK
Internet had a high fee, so we didn't use it.
The grounds were gorgeous - our room looked out onto a gorgeous lake.
The restaurant was good, though a little disorganized - I think they were busier than they expected. But the food was excellent.
The only concern, is that the hotel isn't really near anything. So if you don't have a car, you'll probably have to spend most of your time on the property.
But all in all an excellent stay,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

For starters, french doors opening from your room onto an expanse of lawn leading down to a beautiful lake is so far removed from your typical sterile hotel room it's like like a holiday resort tonic ... and the view from the bathroom is a brilliant concept! We were there for a family birthday celebration and it was a great location ... the pool/spa/sauna were clean and well maintained; the dinner superb and sitting in the sun in the chairs outside our room reading the papers and drinking in the view was a great start to Sunday morning. Heaps to do around the area as well ... great white water rafting. Loved this place and hope to be back again for another weekend soon!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the view across Lake Rotoiti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The condominiums at the hotel are a great places for families. I love how it's situated right on the lake front. Though spa pools would make for a great addition after a dip in the lake.

As a side note Okere falls cafe (down the road) has amazing blueberry pancakes!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
9.1 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
146 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay

Address: 366 State Highway 33, Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $121 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Duxton Hotel Okawa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing