We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$143
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$152
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$126
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,062
$849
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
122
116
45
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
116
45
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam ovenhot water beachswimming poolcamper vandig holesleg of lambnice campingcampervan sitedump stationcommunal showersclean facilitiescamp groundpools are greatshower blockshort walk to the lakelake flieslake edge
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 317 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved the facilities at this campsite: its geothermal swimming pool, hot tubs and option to cook in a traditional thermal oven. The place was clean and well cared for with friendly staff who were happy to try and get the best deal for us on local tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Dun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very nice camping with, if you're lucky, a heated campsite. The facilities are clean and good, only the kitchen is a bit small. There is a hot pool and a swimming pool, both warmed by geothermal activity. If you stay there, you MUST try the Hangi steam oven.. one of the best (and healthiest) meals you'll ever have! Close to the holiday park there's a "hot water beach", which is also nice.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we were going to stay one night on our travels but stayed two.Friendly staff, clean toilets and kitchen, short walk to a hot water beach,will be good in the summer. A 10 minute walk into town along the lake edge was well worth it,beautiful sites. Two hot pools, a heated swimming pool and a free hangi to cook dinner.will be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ok, so Cosy Cottage isn't the most attractive of accommodation options. It is very basic and looks a little rundown. But, it has some major advantages that help to compensate for this. First of all, the location is really good. You just can't beat such an economical option so near (by car) to so many tourist attractions in Rotorua. It's also situated right next to a hot water lake with access a few metres from the park - management also provide spades so that you can dig your own hot pool in the sand. There's some bubbling sulphur fenced off near some of the tent sites to look at. There are two free thermal pools that my husband and our kids loved and the owners have set up a DIY hangi oven for guests to use that is really unique and charming. We stayed in a cottage with our two children and it was adequate for our needs, though very small. So this is a basic but economical option for your holiday in Rotorua with family with some pretty unique features.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. Cosy Cottage is listed in the Trip Advisor category of hotels, however we are a holiday park providing a range of accommodation and camp sites to those who prefer the outdoor experience. The owners have tried to build their business on the beauty and nature of this piece of land without destroying its character. We are not a modern concrete block establishment where everything is the same, but a collection of servicable buildings providing clean and value for money accommodation in a park like environment for our guests. Rooms vary in size from small Kitchen cabins to more spacious self contained 2 bedroom units with full kitchen and lounge. Guests should check carefully on our website to select appropriate accommodation for their needs. We do have a natural boiling mud hole on site, but there are no sulphur vents. Our natural geothermal features including hot mineral pools, steam cooker and hot water beach are free to our guests. Thanks for your stay, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in a self contained tourist flat which had 2 rooms, kitchen and bathroom. Our flat was clean and the one thermal heated radiator was more than adequate to heat the room. The thermal oven was a great way to cook a roast; the meat fell off the bone and the vegetables where lush. Good value and friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Geraint.
Thank you for staying with us. Great to hear another customer enjoying the experience of cooking their own Hangi meal with our unique natural steam cooker. You can never burn your meal here! Did you know that the steam for this comes from our hot water bore drilled 30 metres below the ground surface. The hot water heats all our rooms and hot water supply through heat exchangers. The water is finally cooled sufficiently for our guests to soak in it our hot pools. It is the silica suspended in the water and the slightly alkaline PH water that give the skin a smooth feeling after relaxing in our hot mineral pools. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews