We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“let down”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights, was supposed to be 5 in a tourist flat. Firstly we noticed the floors were very unclean, i doubt the vinyl had been mopped at all. There was a lot of build up - i don't think it had been properly cleaned for several months or more, also the bedding cover was the same. However we tried to put that aside. We cooked our dinner and went to do the dishes and the whole handle of the hot tap fell off. We didn't panic and thought we'd let them know the next morning. Unfortunately the tap also leaked all night which was very noisy. Another thing we had noticed was that the floor around the toilet kept appearing wet - we thought the kids may have done it after standing there after a swim so we kept mopping it up. We reported the leaky tap first thing the next morning. By about 4pm our tap had not been fixed and no one had let us know so we had to ask again for it to be fixed. By this time my partner had been suffering diarrhoea for most part of the day. Later that evening we discovered the wet on the floor had drifted out out into the kitchen, after looking at it a bit more it appeared it may have been plumbing leaking from the adjoining flat - this posed the possiblity of it containing sewerage???. By the next morning my partner was so ill and we were so disgusted we prepared to leave. We reported our findings to the office and said we would like a refund for the last two nights we wouldnt be staying there. The man just scoffed at this and said no as they had to turn people away, he said you have to let us fix this. Well with the track record of how long the tap took to be fixed and my partner by now feeling seriously ill (i've never seen him so sick), we just weren't up to staying any longer. We will be reporting this to consumer affairs or whoever else we have to go to! It ruined our Easter we are very upset!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccrotorua, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi 'Alan S'

First and foremost, we are very disappointed that your stay wasn't up to par. Further to that we're sorry to hear of your partner’s diarrhea and wish him a speedy recovery.

To put you mind at ease regarding the water in the bathroom, we found a leak in the cistern, which was leaking drinking water, not sewerage. That leak was quickly resolved without any fuss by tightening a fitting.

The other issues would have been dealt with had they been brought to our attention. The tap did take longer than we hoped to be repaired, but Easter weekend is the busiest weekend of the year and the fault was fixed on the same day it was reported. We spoke with your partner many times over your stay including what spa treatment was best for your birthday. I’m disappointed that in many visits to the office he didn’t voice any of the other concerns you’ve outlined.

We’ll welcome an inspection from the Health Inspector, ‘Consumer Affairs’, or any other third party of your choice.

Again, it’s is regrettable how things have worked out and we would like to offer you a credit of the 2 nights stay for your use at a later date.

Regards
Cosy Cottage Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    92
    37
    17
    12
See reviews for
98
101
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located well to explore the surrounding area, the staff were well informed about the local visitor attractions and were always very helpful. The novel approach to to cooking with the geothermal heat was an interesting experience as was the naturally hot spa bath. The two bedroom cabin was basic but immaculately clean and very comfortable. The site was very well run and was really good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TupsleyHerefordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed there for two nights on a recent tour of the North Island. Friendly staff at reception made a good initial impression. However, our chalet had not been cleaned. We were moved to another chalet, but overall we did not feel that the site was being kept up to a reasonable standard. Some of the chalets need freshening up, but we enjoyed the facility of the thermal pools.

Room Tip: Check your room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a campervan and pulled in here. It was right on the lake and is quite small. But the facilities were excellent. Fantastic camp kitchen, and they were happy to lend the cooking utensils to cook your meal in the a traditional Maori slow cooking thermal cooker. It had its own mudpool and 4 thermal pools at various temperatures and best of all - no crowds! The staff were really helpful and willing to organise various activities for us. Not close enough to walk to town, but only a short drive. Thoroughly recommend it for facilities and value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lmmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Cosy Cottage Holiday Park. Great location, easy to find and to get around Rotorua. Lovely green sites which were ample for our large motorhome.
Not much luck at the Hot Water Beach, the weather was very windy and there wasnt enough sand left to dig in. But this was more than made up for with the Thermal pools inside the park. They were wonderful!!! We spent the majority of our evenings in them after dinner. Warm, sheltered and soooo relaxing. A real highlight.
Helpful staff at reception and a great BBQ/camp kitchen area all made for a lovely stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our room had a double bed plus a bunk, a small table/chairs, a wee kitchenette and a toilet/sink. It met our needs well, but I would recommend making easier walkways from the car to the door, and perhaps adding some shrubbery to break up the view between unit picnic tables.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sometimes you just find an absolute Gem. Initial impressions were enhanced by the desk staff: courteous, welcoming and extremely helpful with not only the site but with the best things to do during our short one night stay. We took the key to a lovely little self-contained chalet, I say little, but it had a double bed, separate room with 3 single beds and a bathroom with shower. The kitchen had all one needed. As for the site itself, neatly tucked in, it excudes charm and character. Geothermal cooking, hottubs, bubbling mud, swimming pool and a section of beach where you can dig your own spa! I shall certainly recommend this place to all I know and will be coming back at the first opportunity - just loved it.

Room Tip: chalet was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackrrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
96 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua

Property: Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Address: 67 Whittaker Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our “world famous” heated camping sites, powered campervan sites, and of course our namesake, cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty to keep you relaxed, soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook from our Thermal Steam Cooker to walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your own hotpools at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around and within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that share these grounds with us. All without hearing traffic noise or sulphur smell but within a 20 minute walk to the city. Our staff are all well versed in the local attractions and can help you get the most out of your stay in with us while in Rotorua. Cosy Cottage is now under new Ownership and Management. We welcome you to come and Stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Cottage International Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Cosy Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing