We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Green Voyager

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Green Voyager
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was not bad, but not great either. We stayed in a big dorm for 8 people. It was not the cleanest room but it was ok. Bathrooms were ok too. However the staff was great and very friendly and gave us some tips for our trip. Only stayed for one night but seems like a friendly place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    61
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
81
47
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in 5 different hostels during an extended journey in New Zealand. Funky Green was my last stop before heading home. It was definitely ok but certainly the least impressive of the places I stayed over a 3 month period. A lot of your experience in a hostel depends upon the other guests, their age range, maturity level and whether there is an international crowd, or whether one national group predominates. You have no control over that part
.It also depends upon what you are looking for. If you have any attraction to privacy at, this is probably not the place for you. It seemed very congested to me - too many people in too small a space - a bit like a potluck at a frat house. Also, while I was there, there were lots of people arriving or returning in the evening and starting their dinner preparation well after 8 pm. This made for lots of chatter over dinner well into the evening. If you are staying in a private room, it's a fair distance to the washroom which is located in another building. While I was there, the daily turn over was high meaning that there was very little opportunity to make connections or share experiences. People seemed to check in late in the day leave early the next morning. I think this is a more than adequate place for a night or two but not for longer. Also, if you are without a car, as I was, it's probably advisable to stay somewhere closer to the bus stop/i-site.
I really enjoyed Rotorua but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved staying at the Funky Green Voyager. Anya and Gerard are friendly and happy people who love their hostel. We got an awesome room that was like a hotel room for a hostel price. The hostel has a funky environmentally friendly theme, and Gerard gave us discount vouchers to all the attractions we visited. The hostel is in a good location, within walking distance to many restaurants and a big supermarket. IT was also wonderfully clean with fresh towels provided. Don't go past this great hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Some friends and I stayed here a few nights in November and we were not at all impressed. The owner let us know that though we had made online reservations months ahead of time and though we called the day before to let them know we were still coming - told us that we were 10 minutes late to check-in and he gave our room away. In talking with him, he was very grumpy at us, which is always a plus when you're trying to check into a place you booked and called ahead for, and made it seem like we were villains. After some discussion he finally gave us another room that some people just checked out of, so it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. Awesome. The room itself, besides being a bit messy was okay, but the service for the remainder of our stay was not. The staff, when we needed to take a friend to the hospital who wasn't feeling well, was not really interested in helping us. Instead he was more interested in trying to help us diagnose the problem by asking our friend questions that were way too personal. Another staff member told us that if my wife and I wanted to have a "good time" in a more private place, there was another special room we could book across the way. Thanks for that helpful tidbit.

The place itself wasn't too bad. A bit crowded with some strict kitchen rules, but just like any backpacker place. The owner (once he "forgave" us for being late) had lots of discounts for various attractions. It's not too far a walk from everything in town. But we were really put off by the service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrStubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were only here for one night, I would have liked to stay for more. The owners and their kids are nice, and seem genuinely interested in making your experience the best it can be. We stayed in a private twin, no ensuite, was a bit chilly to get out of bed and have to go outside to get to main area with bathrooms in the middle of the night, but they did think it through, and the walkways are covered in case of rain, as was our luck. Clean kitchen, but at peak hours still stuck doing the "hostel kitchen dance", lots of place to store your food, and eggs for sale, as well as beer, LOVED that touch the best :0) I had broken my camera and one of the owners gave me some great shopping advice, and steered me in the right direction. I want to come back to Rotorua just to hang out at Funk Green, is that wrong?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal_Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We paid for 1 night initially, but ended up staying for 5! Anja (owner) is really friendly and gives great advice. The hostel also has discounts to many attractions in Rotorua so it make sense to speak to the staff if you want to go anywhere. We took a double room in the building across the road from the main reception. There are 3 private rooms (1 ensuite double room, 1 double room with shared bathroom and 1 twin room with shared bathroom) and 1 8-bedder dormitory in the building. The twin and double room shares 1 toilet and 1 shower (I assume that the dormitory has their separate bathrooms) which is quite sufficient and you do not usually have to queue for toilet/shower. This building is clean and quiet (except when the dormitory is full and you find yourself having to sit on the bar counter as the dining table only has enough seats for 8 people). Great place overall with very friendly staff. Only small, negligible issue is that there is the smell of sulphur outside the hostel. This is really weird as you don't smell it anywhere else, just the road in front of the hostel (not sure why). Once you are in the building, it is fine. Weird but true.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The private double we had at Funky Green was the best room for the money in the area. We did get a discount but the room was spacious, modern, carpeted, ensuite and had a great bed.

Staff were great, kitchen was fully stocked with all the equipment you would need, lounge had a lovely log fire, wireless facility and books.

Can't fault it from the 3 days we spent there.
Also staff gave us the heads up on the website 'Bookme.co.nz' for cheap deals on tours and events. Saved us NZ$100.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Green Voyager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Green Voyager

Property: Funky Green Voyager
Address: 4 Union Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Green Voyager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Green Voyager Rotorua
Funky Green Voyager Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing