We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
from $21.16
More Info
from $104.17
More Info
from $55.34
More Info
from $146.49
More Info
Reviews (8,169)
Filter reviews
8,101 results
Traveler rating
5,079
2,414
477
92
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,079
2,414
477
92
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the lady knox geyser wai o tapu mud pools amazing colours artist's palette main park geyser eruption thermal area geothermal activity natural wonder mother nature short drive boiling mud take your time geothermal features own pace new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8,101 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This place is amazing !!! I went on a work famil and it really is a hidden gem. We never realise what is in our back yard till we experience it first hand. The tour guides are so polite and welcoming. Photos I took were keepers , the history behind it all was quite interesting.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank chanelrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Worth the drive to view this geothermal wonderland. Amazing colours! Great walks to explore the area further.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank merrilv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Highly recommend this place if you’re keen on viewing mud pools & thermal activity. Very easy to get round & great viewing areas. Loved it here!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank paulaxadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

it was and amazing place The earth was active and you could see water boiling and colors extraordinaries I recommend it

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mercedes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We drove from Napier to Rotorua so we had many options to stop along the way to see some geothermal pools. We went to Crater of the Moon first and were utterly unimpressed. So when we went to Wai-O-Tapu, we were really surprised that the entrance ticket was so high (compared to the previous location). So we were hesitant to go in. But we thought since we made it here, we should just go. So glad we did. This place rocks! (Yes, pun intended.)

We walked through all three loops and thoroughly enjoyed all the different aspects of these thermal pools. There are some steps especially on the 3rd Loop, but all very doable.

Don’t miss the mud pool off the main area. It’s fun watching all the mud sputtering.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jazmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a one-time thing, though because of my domestic and networks, I have been several times. It’s Stimulating.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank AnnaW2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews