We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs more water” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland

Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.33*
and up
Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland Admission
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "One of the 20 Most Surreal Places in the World" Trip Advisor THOUSANDS OF YEARS IN THE MAKING, explore spectacular nature at New Zealand's most colourful natural volcanic area. Walk at your own pace - view the unique Champagne Pool, Sinter Terrace formations, Steaming Ground, Bubbling Mud, Expansive Vistas, Huge Volcanic Craters. The Lady Knox Geyser erupts daily at 10.15am. Excellent facilities at modern Visitor Centre.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Needs more water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I think I was a little disappointed as many of the mud pools had dried up as there had been little rain. The best one by far is the FREE one on the road just before Wai o T apu. The 'wonderland 'is expensive but does provide a pleasant enough walk for nearly 2 hours if you go the whole way round and dawdle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabsterabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,487
    1,668
    319
    56
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Forget the geyser, just walk the walk!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We were a large coach party and after the disappointment of the artificial geyser "eruption" we were conducted round the thermal pools by Martin, a fantastic guide. He explained many of the aspects of the pools, how they were formed etc. It really enhanced our visit and added to our knowledge of this wonderful natural attraction. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was literally mesmerized by this place. It blew my mind. It was such a nice walk, so much too see. Yeah, its pricy, but this is real nature. I felt like a nerd taking pictures of everything, but it was so amazing!
I skipped the geyser because it is fake. It is timed to go off in the morning. Nothing really natural about that. Everything else is beautiful.
It took about 3 hours to fully walk the park and enjoy everything. We went later in the day around 2pm, nobody was there. It was very enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachellynn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
202 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ask about Geyser”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

A very worthwhile place to visit quite unlike any of the other thermal attractions. Most visitors seem to arrive in time to see the local geyser erupt. We sought and received the advice that it currently was not the best and so enjoyed the other wonderful sights almost in isolation - leaving as the masses arrived.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's a Must See!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Amazing Geo-thermal activity, up close. Plan on spending at least 4 hours, so you don't miss anything!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing