We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park”

Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.40*
and up
Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland Admission
Ranked #1 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "One of the 20 Most Surreal Places in the World" Trip Advisor THOUSANDS OF YEARS IN THE MAKING, explore spectacular nature at New Zealand's most colourful natural volcanic area. Walk at your own pace - view the unique Champagne Pool, Sinter Terrace formations, Steaming Ground, Bubbling Mud, Expansive Vistas, Huge Volcanic Craters. The Lady Knox Geyser erupts daily at 10.15am. Excellent facilities at modern Visitor Centre.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well signed routes and relatively flat. We fortunately chose a sunny day, and spent about 2 hours wandering around the various tracks. The gift shop was well stocked, and we also had a coffee at the cafe which was nice.

We arrived after lunch and as others have mentioned the Geyser show is at 10.15am (at a different part of the park), but we were given a re-entry ticket to see it on a return trip.

The park is a good 25 minutes from Rotorua so bear this in mind if you want to see the Geyser show,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,682
    1,743
    333
    60
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uniquely amazing!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to other geothermal sites in Rotorua but this one is the best of the lot. The colours are just amazing. Didn't even see the geyser, didn't want to wake up that early :)

Helpful?
Thank Peepooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackall, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“well worth the visit”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

wonderful place to visit to see some of rotorua's thermal attractions. A lot to see in the one area. Very interesting. Would certainly visit again. Very well set out

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK, but that's about it”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were pretty disappointed to find that the geyser was not real like at Yellowstone national park and had to be induced to spurt once a day, but overall it was quite interesting walking around the park. If someone asked me I wouldn't say "you have to go there", but if you are in Rotorua and want to see some thermal features, you could do worse.

It is worth stopping at the free mud pools on the way out of the park, we really enjoyed watching these.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TassieRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Touristy but good”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Probably the most touristy thing we've done in NZ but reading TA reviews and not sure which 'thermal trip' to do opted for this one. Cost reasonable at $32.50 each, took around 2.5hrs in all, but can cut it short and not miss out too much (the first walk is the best). Everyone goes for 10.15 and eruption of the Lady Knox Geyser and then darts over to the main centre for the lakes and craters, then on the way out is the mud pool. Ideally I'd go later in the day and see the thermal lakes/craters without all the tourists and pop back next day for the geyser. The geyser not as exciting as we were expecting (maybe look on youtube if you miss it - there's some good clips there) .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing