We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends on Your Neighbours” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Depends on Your Neighbours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed here just before Christmas and the Motel cannot be faulted on it's amenities, location or service.
Perhaps others have been more fortunate than us in that they had quiet neighbours, something we didn't have for the first two nights.
Our evening was ruined by the children in the adjacent unit running up and down the stairs.
The Motel is perfect but for the soundproofing between the units which is almost non-exsistent, a real shame.
The staff by the way were extremely good and were willing to move us to another room but we declined as the offenders were checking out.
The free internet could be a lot faster, I don't know why Hotels offer free internet which is not much faster than dial up.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
110
58
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed two nights and found it great. The staff at reception are fantastic and were very friendly and welcoming. We had a Queen bed downstairs and upstairs were 2 single beds.
We found it quite large for 4 of us and enjoyed our stay here. One day my daughters bed was not made (because of our laptop being on it) so they came over - made the bed- and also gave us a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. The pool is a good size and we enjoyed having our own hot tub. Would definitely come back.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank canberra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I only stayed here for one night with my husband, 5 month old daughter, and parents in one of their EQQ rooms (executive queen & queen). It was 2 story and felt very spacious for the price.

It was by far my favourite out of the 7 places that I stayed in around the north island.

The apartment contained: downstairs - a lounge room with queen bed; kitchen; and bathroom. upstairs -very large bedroom with queen bed, open pitched ceilings, and an ensuite with a door between the bedroom and the stairs (this would have been very important had our daughter been mobile). between levels - outside area with a good sized private geothermally heated spa (however noise between neighbours spas travelled).

The complex had a pool which we did not have a chance to try out. It also had a couple of small playgrounds and a restaurant. Lots of trees and gardens just made this place feel like home, rather than an impersonal hotel.

It is located on a main road (that has about a thousand other motels on it!!!) but we were located at the back of the complex and had no problems with traffic noise. Very centrally located and just a short drive away from many popular tourist spots such as the gondola.

The staff were very helpful and were able to suggest activities that fit in well with our interests and limitations. A port-a-cot for my daughter (which we had pre-booked) had been set up with clean linen prior to our arrival.

The sulfur smell was present, but not as bad as I had been expecting (I would guess that this is variable, depending on wind etc)

All in all I wish we had been able to stay here longer and would unreservedly recommend this motel to all who ask.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Booked a two bedroom unit and was disappointed to find we were in a very seventies style motel unit (with no spa) which had been saturated with a very aromatic cleaning product..it had such a strong smell that the three of us were sneezing within seconds. Still no better a few hours later after opening all the windows and doors. The staff at reception were very understanding and offered us a choice of two other (newer) units which although they still had a whiff of the same cleaning product did not reek of it, like the first one...why do people use this awful stuff?>"to cover up worse smells" ...which is a worry! The unit with the mezzanine bedroom was in much newer condition and had its own outside spa pool, although if you are sharing be aware: no sound proofing and the design of the unit meant it was hard to keep cool. A word of warning about Rotorua in summer it can be very hot and airless but winter here is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent three nights in this excellent motel. Our unit was absolutely wonderful, with its own spa bath, plus Sky tv that my 11-year old couldn't drag himself away from....... What made the stay so good, though, was the excellent impromptu advice from the staff on the best sights to see in and around Rotorua. As a result of this wise guidance we saw the most fabulous geysers, waterfalls and other attractions. A really great stay! Many thanks to the staff there!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisemsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Mata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

This place is amaizing. Spa's with private courtyard were just lovely. The reception staff were so helpful with all our travel plans. Would certainly recomend this to all travellers. The swimming pool is great as well.
Had a meal in the restaurant which was to die for. Wonderful to be able to drink and walk back to your unit without having to drive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headacheglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

i almost go to Rotorua every year with my clients, friends & family members from overseas. i found Wylie Court is absolutely the best motel at under $400 range. we love the huge spa, and, the lovely room, and, fast wireless internet. great service as well!! could not ask more!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justlaptops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wylie Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Court Motor Lodge

Property: Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Address: 345 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wylie Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wylie Court is Rotorua's best know and trusted Motor Lodge, with is's Licensed Restaurant & Conference Centre, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service. Our award winning Chef has a well-deserved reputation for fine cuisine,set amongst our park-like surroundings with private spa/plunge pools (subject to availability) Large thermally heated outdoor pool, 2 x playgrounds. Guests enjoy the superb service, and our friendly staff with helpful advice will make your stay enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wylie Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wylie Court Motor Hotel Rotorua
Wylie Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing