We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
henham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Near to perfection”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was very near to perfection on every aspect accomadation hosts food all excellent their advice on what and where to go was good Colleen and her husband made us very welcome and suggested we visit the Agrodome and skyline cable car as well as the famous mud pools

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianHenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Springs really is THE place to stay in Rotorua. We have stayed with Colleen and Murray three times, and every time has been so very special. We are planning trip #4 now; visiting NZ without spending time with Colleen and Murray just doesn’t seem right! The rooms are spotlessly clean and luxurious, as is the whole b&b. The breakfasts are to die for, especially Colleen’s blueberry pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRNN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Springs was amazing. Not only was the b&b clean, luxurious, and spacious, but the hospitality that Colleen and Murray provided was unsurpassed. It was like we had fairy godparents looking out for us. They even provided a hot water bottle to warm the bed at the turn down service. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversations stimulating. We were sorry to say goodbye. Overall, the springs surpassed our expectations. If I could award more than five stars I would.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were blessed that our travel agent booked us into The Springs for 2 nights during our Australia/New Zealand holiday. From the moment we arrived we were treated to the utmost in hospitality and Murray and Colleen went out of their way to cater to our needs. While Murray brought our bags to our room, Colleen made us tea and cakes that we enjoyed on our patio in the garden. Knowing we were tired from a long day of traveling they recommended a nearby restaurant so we would not have to go far to eat, and it turned out to be an excellent meal. While we were away they reconfirmed our next day's tours for us. The room has all the amenities of a fine hotel and more without the incidental charges. This included bottled water free Wi-Fi, an extra plug adapter, iron and supplies in the bathroom. As a major bonus use of the TV room includes not only a wide array of digital channels but also access to port and sherry. The made to order breakfasts are superb. To top it off, when we were departing to catch our onward bus, Murray drove us rather than making us catch a cab. When it Rotorua, it would be a mistake to stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BearTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment of our arrival when they came right out to meet us, Colleen and Murray were welcoming and helpful, ideal innkeepers, who took care of our every need. The B&B is beautiful, beautifully appointed, neat and clean as a whistle, and decorated with such interesting things. They served us delicious breakfasts and recommended a restaurant we could walk to that we liked so much we went back a second night. You can't go wrong by making a reservation to stay at the Springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was one of the friendliest places we have stayed at during our 2 month tour of Oz and NZ. Colleen and Murray treated us like family, even to the point of becoming a little worried when we had been out and about exploring for some 12 bhours one day! A real Home from Home. we were given excellent advice by Colleen on what to see, where to go, and even the best places to eat in town. Their local knowledge is boundless and helped us to see as much as possible in the short time we had, one needs at least 3-4 days here as there is so much to see and do. Breakfast was almost a banquet, pity we were both trying desperately to control our appetites after 6 weeks of hotel food!! Free WiFi is available and Colleen even offered to do our laundry for us. Do ask Colleen about the story behind the photographs of the Beatles!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rotorua was the second stop on an intensive 3-week tour of New Zealand and Australia. Our nine accommodations ranged from city hotels, small B&Bs to boutique hotels, but only two were impressive enough for us to write about. The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast is one of them. It is truly a five-star urban lodge.

One’s first impression is that our inn-keepers, Colleen and Murray Ward, spared no expense in designing and accessorizing The Springs. Every little touch has been thought of – from the handsome common spaces to the bedroom, sparkling bath and lovely garden terrace. This is a comfortable and inviting place that exceeds the description on their website (http://www.thesprings.co.nz).

What we learned to appreciate about the Kiwis of New Zealand is their openness and friendliness. Colleen and Murray are a most helpful and interesting couple who put their guests at ease with gracious hospitality. Add to that the extensive and delicious breakfasts, we were sorry not to have more time to spend in Rotorua!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
171 reviews
7.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Devon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Springs Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing