We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST IN ROTORUA !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST IN ROTORUA !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly, allowing us to park our large boat on the lawn area, many motels in Rotorua do not have room to do this. They also suggested a great indian restaurant and then offered to drop us in town, well and truly over the call of duty !!! We walked back to the motel an easy flat 15 min walk. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a private hot tub. This had a separate master bedroom with small covered courtyard and spa pool off it. The bathroom was nice, and could be accessed from the master bedroom and Lounge area. Our teenagers slept on the sofa bed. The master bedroom was a little bit warm at night, even with the fan going, but it was extremely hot weather at this time, and we were able to sleep with the door to the spa open which made it a little cooler. Highly Recommend and will go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoneyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    235
    43
    8
    1
See reviews for
225
528
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed at Silver Fern Rotorua for a couple of nights in a family connecting room. The rooms were clean, modern and outstanding to be honest for Rotorua.

The rooms were serviced daily and the hosts were more than happy to bend over backwards to help you out, they even supply bikes if you wish to bike around Rotorua. The rooms had a small kitchen, oven tops, fridge, no dishwasher but thats not a major and a laundry on site. They do have a spa pamper service on site I did not use this (ran out of time) but the menu was rather large and prices very good I thought.

If you wish to be picky its not walking distance to the heart of rotorua and the spa in the room is huge and slightly hard to climb up into it to use the shower in it. Not great for your 60+ year old can be a mission but other than that we have a most wonderful stay.

No problems with security at all as the windows have hinges on them and I left mine open at night and during the day. The staff were helpful and the linen and towels are of a high quality.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Very nice hosts and cosy room with a great spa. However, room design in terms of security is terrible. The 2 windows for our bedroom was located just next to the door. We were very concerned and were forced to close the windows at night when we sleep even though there was very limited ventilation left in the room (no air-condition). Fortunately we did just that. Upon checking out, we heard one of the tourists running to the reception and shouting that their room was broken into and their bags were stolen. Apparently, we heard that there were several such cases that happened to other motels along Fenton Street. Overall, its a nice place and great hosts but please remember to close all your windows even if the room becomes a little stuffy at night.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank happysmile111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and our suites. Thank you for taking the time to share your security concerns with us. Our ground floor windows have double tongue ventilation latches to allow passive and secure ventilation, along with security stays on all windows. Our doors all have patio bolts, and the bedrooms all have cooling ceiling fans.

Regarding the guest running into reception to report a break in - the hand bag was located in her suite.

We hope that you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My stay at the Silver Fern was perfect, the stylish refurbished Studio Room was beautifully presented and very functional. I was also lucky enough to have a very relaxing massage with Louise. The hosts Shirley and Allan are exceptional at making your stay a very pleasurable experience, and know all the best spots....especially where to go shoe shopping!!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank shoeshopper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Nice and comfortable rooms. Good location, friendly hosts, good breakfast menu.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

This motel looks a bit dated from the outside but don't let that fool you. The rooms inside have been renovated and are really modern and clean. The best thing about Silver Fern though is the couple that own it - really friendly and accommodating. They even offered to drive us into town for dinner, and greeted us on arrival by congratulating us on getting married. My only quibble would be the shower - we were in a room with a spa, and the spa doubles as a shower. This would be fine, except the water pressure was really weak, so water just went all over the floor instead of getting me clean. It's a minor point though and certainly not worth avoiding this great motel over.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dassRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Silver Fern Accommodation & Spa, and judging by your other reviews, your honeymoon / vacation in New Zealand. Shirley and I really appreciate any feed back we get, especially when it helps us make our future guests stay even more comfortable.
I wish I had been aware of the problem you were having with your shower, it would have enabled me to show you how to adjust it to make the most of our amazing water pressure.
In future I will try and remember to advise our guests that they can alter the pressure as required.
Regards Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed two-nights at the Silver Fern and had a great stay. Traveling with another couple we did extensive research on where to stay in Rotorua. The Silver Fern was a great spot on a street packed with hotels it was comfortable and clean and had a huge bathtub in every room. The innkeepers are friendly and charming and our room was clean and comfy. We had TV, free wireless internet (a rare find in NZ) and were within walking distance to a great bistro nearby. The Silver Fern is in a convenient spot and we made a day trip to Waimangu where we went on a hike through the breathtaking volcanic/geothermal landscape. There's lots to do in the area and we couldn't do it all in the few short days we stayed but would definitely stay at the Silver Fern again if we make it back. We also had an incredible meal at Bistro 1284 in downtown Rotorua, excellent service and incredible food were a great treat in a small town. Oh, but be warned, with the geothermal activity and active geysers, the smell of sulphur usually hangs in the air and can be rather strong sometimes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing