We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly (and beautifully) renovated; great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Newly (and beautifully) renovated; great value”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed here for four nights. The motel has recently changed owners and undergone an extensive renovation. The rooms are beautiful with furnishings that you'd find in a boutique hotel including nice linens and mattresses. Each room has its own enormous jacuzzi spa tub, which is lovely.

The rooms are very comfortable We did have a problem with noise one night (the large group in the rooms above us were clomping around until late at night). We mentioned it to the owners the next day and they immediately offered to switch us to another room (on the upper level). The owners were very nice and helpful throughout our stay. The only downside is the distance from town - a little over a mile (25-30 min walk). The owners will offer to drop you off in town and you can take a taxi back. Or you can drive since there's plenty of parking.

There is wifi (for a fee) and guest laundry (free washing/$3 per load to dry).

Overall, it's a very good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    238
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
235
542
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We booked the room based on the reviews here and the deal including breakfast with a two night stay. Allan and Shirley are excellent hosts and work hard to make your stay pleasant & enjoyable. The room was spacious, clean & well maintained. We had the only room that backed onto an occasional adjoining noisy street which is no fault of the owners, otherwise it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night family package staying at the Silver Fern Motel. We have stayed at many motels in Rotorua and this has to be one of the best. We booked a two bedroom unit for two adults and two children 11yrs & 7yrs. Our package included breakfast delivered to our room each morning, which was so wonderful. The breakfast was slightly different each day and included, toast, bagels, fruit smoothies, juice and pancakes, as well as fresh fruit. It was delivered with a smile and a newspaper, fabulous! We also recieved (free) vouchers for Rainbow Springs, Cinema, Skyline Luge, and Thermal pools. The 2 bedroom units are spacious and have a huge spa bath, which is very deep so you need to watch the young kids. The were very clean and modern. there was a microwave, a 2 ring electric hob and small fridge as well as usual kettle, toaster etc. If there were any minor comments it would be the need for a bigger fridge and there was no extractor fan in the kitchen. However this did not matter to us as we did not intend to cook. Their was a T.V in the louge and in our bedroom. There are tables and chairs for sitting outside your unit and their is a guest BBQ for use. The car parking can be a squeeze when the motel is full but not a great issue. You can also book private spa treatments, unfortunately with having the kids we did not take up this option, maybe next time. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing family break at the Silver Fern and the staff were great. We are going home now for a well deserved rest from all our adventures ! Great place to stay. We will be back. The Garfitt Family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Silver Fern has been renovated recently and the rooms are great. I actually got to see most of the rooms as the hostess tooks us around to look at the Maori Artwork in the rooms, so I can tell you that all the rooms are great.

It was very quiet (we were at the back in Suite 22), it was a 2 bedroom suite.

The hosts were very helpful with information about the area, and what would be best for small children. Also where to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay. The Silver Fern has clearly undergone a big refurbishment recently and I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of hotel. I booked a 2 night package in an executive studio which included breakfast. The room was tastefully decorated with beautiful bed linens, a big comfy couch and a LCD TV and stereo as well as a heat pump. It was a nice change to have quality toiletries in the bathroom rather than the cheap ones you usually get in places . The big spa towels were a bonus and the courtyard spa just added to a great experience. Everything was spotless and it is very clear that the owners of the Silver Fern take great pride in their hotel. Note we did stay in unit 8, not sure if every room has been upgraded but this room had. Top breakfast too, definitely take the breakfast option if you are staying here, it's cafe quality and is delivered right to your door.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbolsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The new owners who took over early this year have made a huge difference to what was already a very good motel (see other reviews). When we stayed most of the rooms had been redecorated, re-carpeted and refurnished and they are now truly luxurious, ultra-high quality and spacious. Silver Fern is not the cheapest in town, but I rate value higher than economy and I believe there is no better value than here.
It's not just the accommodation either - Shirley and Allan are marvellous hosts and will make you feel as though you are an old friend and a very special person.
Silver Fern is about a mile from downtown and about a mile from the Te Puia thermal area so it is equally convenient to both. For guidance on what to see, do and visit while you are in Rotorua, Silver Fern is definitely up there with the best.
When you are next in Rotorua, don't even bother checking the others - just go ahead and book the Silver Fern!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I wasn`t intending to stop in Rotorua but as I was getting sleepy I pulled off into the Silver Fern rather than fall asleep at the wheel.

Interrupting the staff during the Bledisloe cup Rugby on TV I expected to be given less than full attention but the staff were exceedingly friendly and courteous, making sure I got into one of their good sized rooms with the Rugby on. The staff made me feel that I was a house guest rather than a visitor and that my needs came before theirs.

The rooms were comfortable, recently refurbished and pretty good value for money. There was a separate private spa room with the apartment that I didn`t use but looked inviting.

After a delicious breakfast I checked out and left feeling like I was leaving an old friends home rather than just another roadside motel. Next time I`ll try to bring the family and stay for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokkaidokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing