We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very friendly”
Reviewed May 18, 2005

We stayed in the Silver Fern for our two nights in Rotorua en-route from Auckland to Napier.

Despite arriving later than planned we had a great welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The layout was slightly different to what others may be used to with each room having direct access to the outdoors but our room was great - spacious, with a spa and a large bathroom.

Breakfast was delivered to our room on time allowing you to eat in the comfort of your own room (no separate breakfast room). We liked this as we didn't have to get dressed to eat!!!

Although it was a mile or so to the town centre this it was easily walkable and the town isn't affected by the sulphur smell.

Would recommend a trip to the Maori village if you get the chance for a traditional NZ meal.

All in, this is a great little motel.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    243
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
545
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2005

Stayed during Feb 2005 in top level room with large spa. Very good motel accommodation and exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts. Distance from central Roturua is no problem if you have a car - or, as we did, take a cab to and from restaurants. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2005

Located midway down Fenton Road, it is too far to walk to the city centre and Rotorua Lake (over a mile). It is a nice place to stay if you're just stopping in Rotorua for the evening, but for extended stays its not convienient enough for walking to local cafes,shops, and the lake itself. Since you're close to the geysers, there's definitely a sulfur smell in the air - which could be good or bad. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning, and guests were recommended to keep their windows closed at night (since the windows have no screen) due to recent break-ins in the area. We appreciated the fact that they told us about the break-ins (a notice on the dining room table), but it is a little disconcerting to find this out. The host was very friendly. We thought having a spa would be a true luxury, but it was very basic compared to the 5 seater we have at home - and that every motor inn along the road also seemed to advertise in-room spas.

Helpful?
6 Thank orbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2005

The Silver Fern is a good place to stay in Rotorua. The rooms are modern, clean, bright and tastefully decorated (though not interesting). (I was a little skeptical because of the name –it sounds like it's at a truck stop!). The spa baths are great (though many places in Rotorua have spa baths). It is also a good value, and I would recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank clementine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2004

I love this place!! The hosts are very helpful, they went out of their way to find us fun things to do, although in Rotorua that's not too difficult. The spa baths are great, although you can't run them after 10 PM. It's a bit of a walk into the main part of town, but you can still do it. The rooms are nice, we got an upgrade because they were renovating some rooms.

Helpful?
5 Thank divinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2004

This was our second trip to Rotorua and the Silver Fern Motor Inn. The Inn is well maintained & sparkly clean! The hosts are very friendly & helpful, & made us feel right at home. We definitely recommend it!

Helpful?
6 Thank Sophie_Linn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing