We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hi
We stayed here for three nights in April, what a great place very very helpful staff nothing was to much trouble very clean and tidy and best nights sleep great value for money.would recommend sliver fern to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stylish but welcoming, we loved all the finer details, colour choices, decor and design of the unit. The bed was a little soft for our liking but the room was a class above many other local accommodations. Would highly recommend the Silver Fern for all, maybe next time would prefer to be on the upper level to enjoy more light and sunshine but certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonWindust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice motel which represented good value for money. The staff were extremely nice to deal with, whether that be the managers at the time of booking (who told me about the flowers and platter they could arrange to make my weekend away with my Mum extra special), or the owners who were there during our stay. The spa staff member was a lovely person to deal with and made the treatment very enjoyable for my Mum, who had not ever had a massage. Owners only too willing to help us with cooking something in their oven to help us out of a jam, which was appreciated!

Only disappointing aspect was the poor sound proofing between the 1 bedroom unit and the adjacent unit. I could hear quite clearly the television in the other unit, so moved my mattress into the main room to get some sleep. I can't believe such a modern and upmarket motel could have this flaw. Yes, I accept there will be noise when at times the motel has a full house but certainly don't feel I should have to accept excuses for poor sound between rooms. I chose not to phone the office to complain about the noise because the guests in the adjacent room were quite within their right to have a television going for their stay. It was easier to jump into the same room as Mum and be able to get to sleep.

Aside from that, it was a lovely weekend away by both my Mum and I.

Room Tip: Avoid room 18 if you need to use the additional 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at silver fern. We were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade to a 1 bed apartment which was very spacious and comfortable. We made use of the spa facilities and would recommend doing this if you get a chance.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Hi Alex,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Silver Fern. Pleased to hear you appreciated your room upgrade and really enjoyed the Day Spa.
Kind regards
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Perfect stay in a perfect motel. Lovely rooms with everything we could ask for. It was great to open the bathroom and find that huge spa bath. Allan and Shirley were the best hosts. Thanks for the ice Allan it made our drinkies on the balcony that much better.

Room Tip: Two bedroom unit on the second floor has a table and chairs which is a great place to sit after a he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn_Vicary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you Carolyn for taking the time to review our property, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Kind regards
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed in many places in Rotorua and this is one of the best. The rooms are reasonably spacious and have every thing you need. The 11am check out is a great idea as 10am really is too early anywhere if you are on holiday

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs avoid having cars parked right outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Hi Wildcat,
Thank you for the great review, it means a lot to our house keepers to have their hard work recognised. Pleased you enjoyed our 11am checkout, like you we enjoy a leisurely start to the day when we are on holiday.
Kind regards
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

2nd time stayer and everything perfectly in order. Clean, tidy, quiet, great location. I would always choose to stay here. Owner very helpful and gave us a lift to the city to visit the night market on Thursdays (worth a visit with yummy food too). Thanks for the upgrade to 2 brm, which we totally utilised the spa bath which was plenty of room for the 4 of us!
AA+

Room Tip: They are all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisej025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing