We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Another great stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Silver Fern Rotorua a number of times and struggle to find fault.We have also travelled with another couple who have also stayed a couple of times at Silver Fern.
Quite frankly we have no reason to stay anywhere else. We have always found the team to be friendly and the accommodation to be first class. Our most recent stay we tried the cooked breakfasts for the first time and were blown away. The quality and taste was fantastic, not to mention that they were very affordable.
We are due to be back in Rotorua again in the next few months and you guessed it ----- Silver Fern here we come.

Room Tip: We like upstairs as they have the provision for you to sit outside on the patio and enjoy a drink or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 623Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    242
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
544
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This motel is set on the main road on the outskirts of Rotorua. We had a corner room on the first floor (No. 16). It was a good size, lovely and bright with a good sized bathroom and spa bath. The managers were very knowledgeable and helpful and offered us discount vouchers for Wai-o-Tapu. They also did an excellent cooked breakfast.

We went to the Tamaki Mauri village feast (picked us up outside the motel) and were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food included. We were joined by our son and young family so went to the Skyline and enjoyed taking the children on the luge.

We ate at Ciccio in Rotorua. There is a good selection of places to eat in the centre in an area renamed 'Eat Street'.

On our way to Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

GOOD: 1. Free car parking and free wi-fi internet in room with good speed. 2. Owners are very friendly and helpful, we had a free upgrade. 3. Rooms are big, with kitchen and teapot, microwave, electric range etc. 4. Late check-out at 11 a.m. 5. Located near main places of interest in town.

BAD: 1. Breakfast is a-la carte and a little expensive, e.g. omlet is 14 NZ dollars. 2. Reception hours are 7.30 a.m. - 9.30 p.m. 3. Shower is not convenient, when you take it, a lot of water flows on the floor.

Room Tip: Better take rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I travel around New Zealand with work, and the Silver Fern is by far my favourite place to stay! The rooms are always spotlessly clean, I love that they are all slightly different, I have stayed in most of them, and would find it hard to pick just one as my favourite, as they are all modern and comfortable! It's an easy walk into town, the location is perfect! As you get closer to town it can get noisy, so the Silver Fern is perfect if you want to relax and not worry about street noise!! They also have a day spa, and the facials are incredible!! There's also nothing better in the morning than having your breakfast delivered with freshly brewed coffee!! Thank you Allen and Shirley, you really are the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

As a sales rep finding good and affordable accommodation is hard to come by these days, and when I am in Rotorua there could only be the one for me The Silver Fern!!! Great customer service friendly couple, very welcoming and always have a smile of their faces. I would recommend this place to friends, families and co workers every time they mention they are going to Rotorua. Bless The Silver Fern xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmandichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The owners are very nice and funny! The appartment was very cosy and gave me an immediate feeling of "I'm home!". Clean, quiet, perfect!
After a call to my room "are you ready for breakfast?" the owner brought me his self-made delicious breakfast.
My stay was only 15 hours, but definitely the best 15 hours in hotels during my trip!

And pelase see the pic what they do for marketing ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We selected Silver Fern at Rotorua after reading other reviews and we're not disappointed. The welcome was friendly, the rooms very well appointed with everything of a high standard. The location was good near restaurants. We were able to use a guest laundry. Would recommend to other travellers looking for a spot in Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing