We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern Accommodation”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Very friendly and helpful owners,we were given suggestions on places to visit.
Loved the room, it was spacious,modern and very clean. We had a huge(double)spa bath. We also took advantage of the free DVD's on offer, and spent a couple of relaxing evenings in the room.
The laundry came in very handy, total cost of $4 for powder, washer and dryer. Used the iron and ironing board in the room.
I would say that the Silver Fern (along with most other Motels and Hotels on fenton Street) are quite a distance to the town centre,the lake and the Polynesian Spa ( a couple of kms/40min walk). I would suggest driving there.
You can however walk to the Whakarewarewa Thermal Valley,it is well worth a visit. We were amazed.
We also drove to the Green and Blue Lakes, did a lovely walk around the Blue one.
We went to the Polynesian Spa, our first experience of this type. The adult pools were of varying temperatures,mostly quite hot and it was very relaxing overlooking the lake.
Would definitely recommend the Silver Fern.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to avoid cars parked outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of the Silver Fern and the fantastic time that you had while exploring Rotorua.
Pleased that you enjoyed your room, we try our very best to have the extras to make the stay more relaxing & enjoyable.
The DVD's are a great way to relax in the evenings and there seems to be something for everyone in the basket at reception.
Once again thanks for the review we really do appreciate taking the time to post one for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    242
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
544
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night, quite nice and modern but quite pricey. The rooms were clean and spacious, but the shower was a bit crappy. Overall though a nice experience and the owners could not have been more helpful.Paper thin walls, be ready for no sleep if you have rowdy neighbours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Andrew,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Silver Fern, and taking the time to write a review.
We apologise for the shower head,and since reading your review we have replaced which has corrected the problem.
Hopefully we will see you back at the Silver Fern when you next visit Rotorua.

Kind regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room was very clean and the spa was a nice way to relax at the end of the day. Decent location but not walking distant to anything. It was a perfect was to spend a rainy night in Rotorua and explore the surrounding area the following day.

The owners talked a little about Lake Taupo which was our next stop. They were very pleasant and helpful. we'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utopia113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We travel quite a bit and stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. Nothing ever seems to be 100%. BUT HERE IT IS! We were booked one night but liked the place and it's owners so much we extended our stay to 3 days and took a vacation from our vacation, just kicked back and used this as our base to explore the region. The owners, Allan and Shirley, were very accommodating and gave us all the info about Rotorua and the surrounding area. Allan's a kick and Shirley's a doll.
The room was a king size studio that was very roomy with a balcony that overlooked a park (Room 12). The kitchen was well equipped. The only thing lacking was a stove but we learned to cook eggs in a microwave! It had a fridge, electric teapot, French coffee press, corkscrew, etc. The whole place was SPOTLESS! The bed was comfy and the linens nice. And then there was the in-room spa bath.....it was HUGE! The shower head was a large rain one with good pressure. And again, SPOTLESS!
All over New Zealand they have a very annoying habit of being stingy with the internet. This code, that code, available for free but only for a half hour and only in the lobby, etc. etc. This place had FREE INTERNET THAT WAS ON THE ENTIRE TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!! The whole country could take a lesson here, it's good for all businesses to share the resource.
This was such a good find in a town with countless motels and hotels.

Room Tip: Book room 12 with king bed, good cross breeze and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padredecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My partner and I spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor of many hotels and motels in Rotorua, we were convinced from what we read about Silver Fern, it was the place for us. We were not disappointed. We had a one bedroom suite which consisted of a living area, separate bedroom and a bathroom, which led to a private outdoor spa area. It was immaculately clean and well appointed. The owners, Shirley and Allan were delightful, and went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience. A cooked breakfast was brought to our room each morning. A DVD library was available to us at the main desk. Of course the spa was used both nights. Our daughter joined us on the second night, as she had finished a tour around the North Island. Although we had not previously booked for her (we were not able to split the booking online) without any fuss, the sofa was converted and made up into a bed. I am delighted to be able to recommend Silver Fern Rotorua to other travellers and believe that you will enjoy the stay as much as us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzBods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stopped here after a long day at Waitomo Caves where we did a caving tour. The drive from Waitomo Caves area was over 3 hours and my brilliant husband suggested I call the hotel on our drive to confirm we are still checking in since it was 8:30pm. Good thing we did call since The owners of the hotel close up the front desk at 9pm and we would have been SOL with our reservation.

Paul and his wife waited 15 min past close for us to arrive and showed us to a quaint room. Paul and his wife were super friendly and full of great suggestions. The room was comfortable, a little dated but clean and had an awesome huge jacuzzi spa tub in the bathroom. Unfortunately, we were only staying the night and then heading to Wellington so we couldn't take advantage of all the great suggestions Paul had or the fabulous spa tub.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean accommodation. Big room with a large spa tub to relax in. The kitchenette made it convenient to prepare a simple breakfast with supplies bought at the Pak N Save up the street. In addition, the front desk staff was VERY warm and friendly. They were helpful on providing advice on local attractions and some discount coupons.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SagunaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing