We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$117
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista Capri Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$743
$530
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
737
264
49
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
264
49
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteone bedroom suitenew zealandsmall kitchenettegreat place to stayte puiathe ground floorfree wififenton streetwater pressurewai o tapucomfortable bedroad noisetown centreshort drivewould definitely stay here againhot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed three nights in the Silver Fern in a large, comfortable room with an enormous bathroom with spa tub and shower. We were welcomed by Allen and Shirley, who accommodated a change in plans and were so gracious when we arrived tired after a long drive from the Bay of Islands in the rain. We appreciated the complete kitchen, the spotless room, and the quiet. Silver Fern is well out of the town's dreary motel row but well-situated for sight-seeing in the area. Rotarua is a beautiful region, dotted with gorgeous lakes and forested hikes. We enjoyed an afternoon at Paradise Spa (but having our own spa in our own room was a lovely treat!) We took the paddle boat ride around Lake Rotarua. We enjoyed the pedestrian restaurant area downtown, especially Brew, the craft beer/bistro, which had pleasant live music and great food.
If you go to Rotarua, there is plenty for all ages to do, and museums to see. We were at the end of our trip, running low on energy, and appreciated the beauty and calm we found at Lake Tarawera, and the lovely welcome we received at Silver Fern.

Room Tip: We were in Suite #5, which had windows and air on two sides and was on the end for maximum quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi Mary,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Silver Fern. We are pleased you had a great time both here, and in Rotorua, and we look forward to seeing you again some day.
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

we stayed in this hotel for three nights, nice clean comfortable rooms,nice breakfasts, good bath and shower, and the owners are very helpful and nice people.
Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a good quality decently priced motel to stay in.

Room Tip: All look nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled you had a great time at the Silver Fern and enjoyed the room features such as the spa bath. Thank you for recommending staying at the Silver Fern to others, and we hope to see you again some day.
Allan & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our Family stayed for three nights in the beginning of February 2014 and loved it! This is a great place to stay. The rooms were large, tastefully decorated and clean. The service was excellent and the location is superb. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed five nights at Silver Fern and are very happy with our stay. We have a one bedroom suite upstairs. Both the lounge and the bedroom are very spacious and we have a spa bath in the bathroom. I must say that I haven't used it as we have no time. The managers, Paul and Carol are very warm and friendly and recommended things to do and places to visit to us and also booked for us. The rooms are very clean and are serviced every day. All in all, we are very happy with our stay and will definitely stay at Silver Fern again should we visit Rotorua again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Location: Hotel was very easy to find and a short 15/20 minute drive from the Rotorua airport. The city/town is rather small and most of the hotels there are in that area. A 15 minute drive to the gondolas at skyride and about 25 minutes from the geothermal attractions.

Rooms: We booked a superior studio room, which was on the 2nd floor (better to request a room on this floor vs the ground floor as that is where all the cars are parked and there’s less privacy on ground floor). The studio room was very spacious with a desk/tv, large, comfortable king sized bed with nice pillows and blanket. There was also a tea/coffee maker and front desk gave us milk in case we wanted to make our own coffee. There was a large spa tub in the room, which was nice, although we didn’t use it, and the separate bathroom with nice and spacious with a great shower and usual amenities, including decent hairdryer. Wifi was included and worked very well for us.

Service: Quick check in, the owners were super helpful and nice.

Other: While not the most exciting part of our stay in NZ, we enjoyed the Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife park (got to play with lion cubs!), the skyline/luge experience (awesome view) as well as the Waiotapu Geothermal grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews