We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top class motel”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I selected this venue for our 40th wedding anniversary Rotorua weekend based on other reviews and it matched the positive comments and met my expectations. The owners were very friendly, provided an excellent breakfast and the latish check out meant a relaxed Sunday morning watching the All Blacks scrape past the French! Recommend paying a bit extra for the larger and comfortable executive studio for the longer stays - ask for the one at the far end of the block upstairs if you want privacy and a quiet time.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a bit extra for the larger and comfortable executive studio for the longer stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    243
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
545
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There is a lot to like about this refurbished Rotorua motel. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Only drawback is that it is not well insulated for sound so we were subjected to our neighbours noises and because the windows are not double-glazed we heard the trucks rumbling by - it is on the main road between Rotorua and Taupo. And we were in a room well back from the road. Can't fault the stand-in managers who were friendly welcoming and helpful. Great spa bath but I suspect using the shower above it would be a little tricky for the less agile..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although we did not stay at Silver Fern Motel we were able to book in for a massage at their Studio and Spa. It was an excellent massage - one of the best ever, and my travelling companion concurs with this. We were very grateful to the relieving managers (who had just started that day), who with a smile helped arrange the massage for us. Their professionalism was great.

We would especially like to thank Waimarie for fitting us in for a 30 minute massage each at short notice. She was skilled, professional and very charming.and my cousin and I felt a million dollars after her massage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gae802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Modern, clean and large room with spa bath in the room. Every little detail thought of, including champagne glasses and even make up remover, make up towel and pumice stone! This lovely place exceeded our expectations. Our friendly and helpful hosts added to an enjoyable stay and the sensible 11am checkout is great! Would certainly return and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TANMAREER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a friendly greeting and our room was very large with a Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Rooms were clean and tidy and had small kitchenette and dining table and the room was modernly decorated.
We had breakfast both mornings, which we ordered the evening before. The food was delivered to our room at the allocated time and the food quality was excellent.
The owners we're really helpful in providing info on things to do whilst we were in Rotorua and there is a large selection of leaflets at reception.
Hotel is a little way out of town, probably 20-25 min walk, but parking in town is plentiful.
We would definatley come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

after reading reviews, this was our choice all too brief just the one night. Lovely large room with spa. Excellent amenities,clean & well appointed & good WiFi !The hosts Alan & Shirley couldn't have been more helpful. There is a smell of sulphur but very subtle,& hey isn't that part of Rotorua history? 5 mins from the centre of town quiet end of Fenton St. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Fern for two nights in mid October. From the minute we arrived in Rotorua, Allan and Shirley were wonderful. They picked us up from the bus terminal and suggested many great activities for our stay. They also encouraged us to borrow the two bicycles they have on site to explore the city, which was a terrific idea.
Our room was also lovely, spacious and well-maintained. The in room spa was a plus!

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room. If we were to stay at the Silver Fern again we would definitely pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing