We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Two friends and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had bought tickets to the Raggamuffin concert. We were planning on getting a bus ride to the concert on the Saturday but, Allan (owner) offered the 3 of us a ride down. We thought this was a such a lovely gesture and were extremely grateful for the offer. I found the motel to be very clean and modern. The cleaners were very friendly and 3 of them separately wished us a good day and hoped we enjoyed ourselves at Ragga. We ordered breakfast on the last morning and found the free range eggs and bacon were delicious. I will definitely be recommending this motel to all of my family and friends who need a place to stay in Rotorua. Nice people, and nice motel.

Room Tip: I slept in the back room of suite 22 (2 bedrooms) and found it to be nice and quiet (ground floor) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at Raggamuffin and enjoyed the breakfast and service of Allan and the cleaners while staying at the Silver Fern. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were a visiting family of four from the UK, two adults and two daughters (11 and 15) and we stayed at the Silver Fern in mid December 2012. We only had limited time so we asked Allan & Shirley for advice for how to best spend our time. Their advice was excellent and we had a brilliant time doing both sporty and cultural activities. This sort of local knowledge is exactly what I value from accommodation owners.
The rooms were light and spacious with a truly enormous spa bath. Parking was fine but can get a bit full. Excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi John,
Thank you for staying with us while in New Zealand. We are glad our local knowledge ensured you spent your time well while in Rotorua - maybe we will see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and baby girl stayed here in Jan 2013. Comfortable modern and clean rooms. Kitchen has a microwave and fridge but no oven or cooktop. Bedroom was smallish with half metre either side of the bed and one metre at the foot of the bed. I had to shift the mattress slightly sideways to fit our travel cot. Bed itself was on the soft side but still comfy. There is a covered outdoor area out the back with a deep spa bath. We ended up putting our luggage bags here as there was no room in the bedroom. The outdoor covered areas are not well insulated for noise. Likewise, we were on the bottom floor and upstairs guests shutting doors, etc until 1am kept me up. Would be great if room had aircon but roof fan did a good job in the bedroom. DVD hire was great and the service at front desk awesome. Guest laundry very good with washers free but dryers and powder costing a few bucks. Location is on Fenton St which is really a motel strip but is close to town. I think, for the price it was good but not great (have now travelled both islands for several weeks as basis for comparison).

Room Tip: Err on the side of caution and take an upstairs room as it would be quieter. Not all guests display...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi Shawn,
Thank you for your feedback of the Silver Fern. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable, modern and clean rooms along with the DVD hire and service. You may have found our Family One or Two Bedroom suites to suit your needs better, with larger bedroom space for a cot, and hob cooking facilities. We hope to welcome you back to the Silver Fern in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fantastic. We were upstairs, and near road, but traffic does stop later evening. We did have a spa bath and the shower was over this. Could be a problem for older people to actually step into the spa bath to have a shower. Otherwise, top accommodation at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelockAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Fern for 2 nights early in January. My husband and I were hosting some old family friends from Alaska in the USA. They are first time visitors to New Zealand and the Silver Fern was their first accommodation experience here on their holiday. What a GREAT impression it made. Our two bedroom apartment was large and nicely decorated, it was extremely clean and a real pleasure to sleep in the comfortable beds. We were lucky enough to enjoy an apartment at the rear of the complex which was very quiet and peaceful. Like other reviewers enjoyed drinks on the deck at the table and chairs provided. Our hosts were so welcoming and helpful. Very happy to recommend the Silver Fern to overseas and local visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

The title of your review 'proud to be a kiwi' brings a big smile to our face, and we thank you for your review. We are also very proud to be kiwi and are so happy your guests from Alaska had a great experience at the Silver Fern. We hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great accommodation and good location. Great DVD and book collection.

This was one of the best places we stayed in NZ and would stay there again. Look no further folks, this is the place to stay in Rotorua!

Room Tip: Upstairs might be better, as you don't hear people having a spa at 11pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Upon arriving in Rotorua we were hesitant to stay with the smell of the thermals so strong. We decided to give the area a fair chance & adjusted to the surroundings. The Silver Fern is owned by a wonderful couple who are most helpul is making their guests comfortable. We found our suite a bit noisy being closer to the road, fortunately the traffic quiets at around 10p.m.. As it was very warm during our visit we needed to leave the windows open.
We visited the thermal area of Wai-O- Tapu & the Waikikite Valley Thermal pools. A lovely surprise was the beautful hike through the Redwoods Whakarewarewa Forest.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing